The Assisted Living Federation of America defines Assisted Living as a special combination of housing, supportive services, personalized assistance and healthcare designed to respond to the individual needs of those who need help with activities of daily living. Supportive services are available, 24 hours a day, to meet scheduled and unscheduled needs, in a way that promotes maximum dignity and independence for each resident and involves the resident's family, neighbors and friends.
Act 1230 of 2001 authorized the creation of Assisted Living in Arkansas. Prior to Act 1230, Assisted Living was not mentioned in Arkansas law or regulation. This act created, within the Department of Human Services (DHS), an Assisted Living Program for the State of Arkansas. A copy of Act 1230 can be obtained at http://www.arkleg.state.ar.us/.
To provide Assisted Living in Arkansas, one must:
The Arkansas Health Service Permit Agency has adopted a Permit of Approval methodology. For information on how to apply for a Permit of Approval contact the:
Arkansas Health Services Permit Agency
Freeway Medical Tower
5800 West 10th, Suite 805
Little Rock, AR 72204
The Arkansas Department of Human Services (DHS) has issued Regulations for Assisted Living. DHS promulgated the regulations in accordance with the Arkansas Administrative Review Process, which included a 30-day public comment period.
Building an assisted living facility with rents in the $350-$400 per month range is indeed a challenging undertaking. It often requires the use of public financing mechanisms such as tax credits, HOME funds, bonds, Federal Home Loan Bank assistance, and other programs. Often these must be combined or "layered." The Arkansas Development Finance Authority has a set-a-side for affordable assisted living. Their Web page provides information on how to apply for tax credits and HOME funding.
Assisted Living Choices Links and Information
If you have questions, contact the Division of Aging and Adult Services
or Call toll-free 1-866-801-3435 (8 to 4:30 M - F)