USINESS
JTOOLKIT




This toolkit is designed to aid in starting, operating, and managing an Adult Family Home.

The toolkit has been developed by alt.Consulting in cooperation with the Department of Human
Services’ Division of Aging and Adult Services for the purposes of expanding the knowledge base of
providers of Adult Family Homes.

alt.Consulting recommends that owners of an Adult Family Home seek professional help and services
when beginning a business. Many resources are noted throughout the toolkit for reference purposes.
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GETTING STARTED

What an exciting venture, YOU, the owner of a new Adult Family Home (AFH) are about to
take on! The Arkansas Department of Human Services’ Division of Aging and Adult Services is
a great place to get started with the process of becoming a certified home. However, this
toolkit will serve the purpose of aiding you to become a business manager as well as a certified
AFH. After all, this is a business you will be running and this toolkit should provide the
necessary skills to help you along the way.

Starting a business takes time and will incur the owner some fees on the front end. Fees are
required to obtain licenses and/or permits. There are different requirements at the city,
county, state and federal levels that apply to different aspects of all businesses.

While it is impossible to list all legal requirements for any business, this toolkit serves as a guide
for business owners launching their venture. Business research should be thorough and
ongoing to keep up with regulatory changes as they occur.

Business Start-up expenses for Adult Family Home

Business license $25-50

Business Checking account $100 deposit plus cost of checks and other
applicable fees

Limited Liability Corporation fees* $30 (State of Arkansas)

Microsoft Excel software $149.99

Internet $30-50 monthly plus the cost of installation
Computer $400-500 depending on where purchased
QuickBooks* $200-250 depending on where purchased

*Not required but suggested
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(This should be done before
certification in order to verify you
can operate in your home.)

Zoning Approval and Building & Sign Permits

Before applying for a business license, first verify that the type of business
and its physical location comply with local zoning regulations. Although
there is no fee associated with verifying local zoning compliance, permit
application fees may vary depending on the city or county in which you

reside.

Zoning laws vary significantly throughout the state. Where zoning laws
apply, they are strictly enforced. Generally, zoning approval is a one-time occurrence.

Zoning offices can supply business license applications. If the proposed business site is not in
compliance, you must apply for a permit to change the current zoning. Home based businesses
must apply for a home occupation permit. Certain limitations may apply. Most cities and
counties should not have problem with an Adult Family Home.

Signage for your business requires a sign permit. If you plan to build a new building or to alter
an existing building, apply for a building permit.

You may need to contact a planning and zoning official or your local business licensing office.

. . (Also known as a Privilege License)

Business License | After verifying zoning compliance the next step is to apply for a
business license. The application fee for obtaining a business license
will vary between $50 to over $100 depending on the type of business and amount of
inventory.

Generally, business licenses are renewed annually. Apply for a business
license at city hall in which the business is physically located. If your
business is located outside of city limits, you may need to contact your
county’s administrative office. You may or may not need a license in this
case. The county administration should tell you whether or not it is
necessary. In cases where you do not need a license, the county may
require you to obtain a DBA certificate. Depending on the type of
business, there may be additional licenses & fees.
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Doing Business As Certificate (DBA)

Sole proprietors and general partnerships
operating their business under a fictitious or assumed name may need to apply for a DBA
certificate with the county administrator in which the business is physically located. This is
where your business may have multiple operations but only operate a certain portion of your
business as an AFH. The business owner may need to contact the local county courthouse.
This application fee may range from $25 to $100, and generally is a one-time occurrence. A
business name change, ownership change or business closure will require filing an amendment
at the county office. The county clerk’s office will conduct a complimentary name search for
the business to make sure of the name’s availability in case you choose a name and it is in use
by someone else. This is provided simply as a courtesy. The business owner should also
inquire about a DBA application if the business is incorporated but operating under another
business name.

Registering a Business Name

A DBA does not protect or reserve a business name.

Research and discuss the
advantages and
disadvantages of each form of ownership with a qualified accountant or attorney before you
finalize your decision. If incorporating (filing as a corporation or a Limited Liability Company),
contact the Arkansas Secretary of State's office. One can incorporate a business using the
Secretary of State's on-line services and by searching their database of incorporated businesses
to determine if the business name is available. If the business files as a corporation and never
does business as a corporation, the business is still responsible for annual
franchise taxes.

Determining the Legal Form of Business

FL _ | Franchise taxes are to be paid every year by May, beginning the year
’R following the date of business formation. Annual franchise fees are
currently $150, but you should check with the Secretary of State’s office to
make sure of the amount. The fee to dissolve a corporation is $50 plus the
current year's franchise taxes. The legal forms recommended for this type

of business are:
% Sole Proprietorship
%+ Single Person Limited Liability Company or known as an LLC.

Sole Proprietorship

A sole proprietorship is a business with a single owner with no formal or separate form of
business structure. The owner has as sole control of and responsibility for the business. This is
easily formed and allows important decisions to be made quickly and has fewer legal
restrictions. The owner and the business are indistinguishable. The business has limited life
and cannot be transferred to others.
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The sole proprietor's responsibilities include:

J Obtaining all capital

J Personal liability for all debts and claims against the business

o Claiming all profits and losses on the owner’s personal tax return
o Obtaining state and local business licenses and permits

J Recording the name of the business with your local county clerk

When a sole proprietorship is sued its owner is automatically implicated in the suit since the
owner’s assets and the business assets are one and the same. In the event of a law suit, the
owner stands to lose all personal assets together with any business assets.

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

A limited liability company combines many favorable characteristics of corporations and
partnerships. The LLC provides limited liability to its member's and offers them the same IRS
tax treatment as partnerships.

e Owner must file articles of organization with the Arkansas Secretary of State

e LLC allows members to manage the company themselves or to elect managers

e LLC allows members to engage in management without risk of losing their limited
liability status

e LLC enjoys less regulation on record keeping

e LLC may be taxed by the Internal Revenue Service as a corporation or as a
partnership, depending on the structure

e LLC must file an annual franchise tax report to Arkansas Secretary Of State

The advantage of the LLC is that the business and the owner are two separate entities,
protecting the owner’s personal assets in the event of a law-suit (unless the owner is also
personally sued).

An Employer Identification Number (EIN)
is also known as a Federal Tax
Identification Number and is used to
identify a business entity. Most businesses need an EIN. Employers need EIN’s if they have
employees, operate a partnership or corporation, and/or
withhold wages on income.

Employer Identification Number

oll1l0
ST,

= Apply Online

= The internet EIN application is the preferred method for
business owners to apply for and obtain an EIN. Once the
application is completed, the information is validated during the
online session, and an EIN is issued immediately. The online
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application process is available for all entities whose principal business, office or agency or legal

residence (in the case of an individual) is located in the United States or U.S. Territories. The

principal officer, general partner, grantor, owner, trustee etc. must have a valid Taxpayer

Identification Number (Social Security Number, Employer Identification Number, or Individual

Taxpayer ldentification Number) to use the online application.

Obtaining an EIN online (Employer Identification Number)

l.) Go to the following website:
http://www.irs.gov/businesses/small/article/0,,id=102767,00.html

2) Click the bottom of the pager where it reads “APPLY ONLINE NOW”

2) Click the box at the bottom of the page “Begin Application”

3) Follow the steps |-5 to obtain your EIN

4)

5.)

You should be able to print off your EIN information within 5 minutes.
Keep this information securely in your business records

Here are three alternative ways of obtaining an EIN.

Apply By EIN Toll-Free Telephone Service

Taxpayers can obtain an EIN immediately by calling the Business & Specialty Tax Line at (800)
829-4933. The hours of operation are 7:00 a.m. - 10:00 p.m. local time, Monday through Friday.
An assistor takes the information, assigns the EIN, and provides the number to an authorized
individual over the telephone.

Apply By Fax
Taxpayers can FAX the completed Form SS-4 (Search IRS website) application to:

Fax#: (859) 669-5760
after ensuring that the Form S$-4 contains all of the required information. If it is determined
that the entity needs a new EIN, one will be assigned using the appropriate procedures for the
entity type. If the taxpayer's fax number is provided, a fax will be sent with the EIN within four
business days.

Apply By Mail
The processing timeframe for an EIN application received by mail is four weeks. Ensure that
the Form SS-4 (Search IRS website) contains all of the required information. If it is determined
that the entity needs a new EIN, one will be assigned using the appropriate procedures for the
entity type and mailed to the taxpayer. Send the form to:

Internal Revenue Service

Attn: EIN Operation

Cincinnati, OH 45999

Business Banking Account : . :
g Once you have obtained a business license and an

Employer Identification Number (EIN), you are ready
to open a business bank account. This account is used to operate your business finances. Your
business finances should be kept separate from your personal finances. This will help in the
long run with income tax returns and clear up any discrepancies that may or may not be caused
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by clients and/or their families. The Internal Revenue Service auditors are more comfortable

208

= (=

with clearly defined business records.

Most banks allow business owners to open a business checking
account free of charge with a minimum deposit. Deposits vary by
banking institution. Please be careful to check other fees associated
with a business checking account as well as the fee schedule for the
bank. They are required by law to provide you with a schedule.
Review it thoroughly. Check with your bank for more information.

Business Property Assessment

A business owner must assess the property of
the business (building, equipment and furnishings,

but not land). The deadline for assessing is May

31*. Taxes can be paid the first working day of March through October 10" without a penalty.

There is a 10% penalty for missing the assessment

deadline.
e r f If you are not the current owner of the home, you may
/‘ ri" want to check with the landlord or owner of the
A [ property to make sure the building has been assessed.

Back taxes can strip the owner of the building and force
the business to close

After having completed a worksheet listing the business

property by category, the assessor will generate an invoice based on the business' amount, age,
and type of equipment. Don't forget to itemize leased equipment; however, the owner of the
equipment is the one taxed. Contact your assessor’s office for more information.
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BUSINESS ORGANIZATION

Business owners need to keep records. Keeping good records is the key to successfully
operating a business. Keeping sufficient files for the business will help during tax tine as well.

Things you will need:
e Manila folders (box)
¢ 3 Ring Binder (two)
e File cabinet with lock and key

alt.Consulting has created a filing system to help with organization of the Adult Family Home’s
files. The steps to a good filing system are listed below but are as suggestions as every business
owner is different and has different needs.

Getting Organized

You will need a box of manila folders. They need to be labeled accordingly.
e Tax information

Expenses to be paid

Paid Expenses

Startup cost

Mileage

Intake/Information for Clients

Timesheets

Each employees will need their own folder

Each client will need their own folder

These folders will be kept in your file cabinet and locked at all times. All information, especially
if it contains social security numbers and health information, is highly sensitive and must be kept
private.

Each folder holds specific information.

~
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Folder Content

Tax information — Folder includes all basic business information such as business license;
incorporation papers, EIN, state tax ID, etc. Any receipts from licensing, certificates or
taxes/fees incurred with startup paper work.

Paid Expenses — All bill/invoices that have been paid by the business. Mark the folder for the
appropriate time period for bill/invoices being kept in the folder. EXAMPLE: January 2011 or
Utilities — Jan 201 |

Unpaid Expenses - Receipts for all expenses will be kept in this folder. When you receive a
bill for the home in which you live but operate the business. there are steps you need to take
to keep business and personal affairs separate.

I. Receive the bill/invoice and make a copy for this folder.

2. Write a check from the business checking account to pay bill. If the bill/invoice is for
the home, such as electricity, then pay the percentage of the bill which covers the
business (percentage of the house used for business).

3. Memo line of the check should specify the percentage of the bill/invoice — EXAMPLE:
Memo 33% of Electricity bill. This denotes the portion being paid by the business.

4. Make a copy of the check if your bank does not provide imaging. Attach the copy of the
check to the left corner of the bill and file after the payment is sent. Mark the bill as
paid and move to the paid expenses folder.

It is good to keep track of expenses on a monthly basis.

6. All reimbursements should be made once a month to anyone including the AFH owner.
Use the business checking account and write in the memo line why this person or
organization is receiving the check. EXAMPLE: Memo Jane Smith — AFH owner
reimbursement.

7. Be sure to attach any receipts to the copy of the reimbursement checks.

8. Some examples of expenses are utility bills, grocery store receipts, subscriptions, etc.

u

Mileage — You will most likely drive your car for business use. Keep records for all personal
miles driven in this folder and reimburse yourself for all miles driven minus the personal miles
you have recorded. This should be done on a monthly basis.

EXAMPLE of business trips: taking client to the doctor, grocery shopping, paying bills, etc.

Intake/ Information for Clients — The Intake Packet is a compilation of forms that you, the
AFH owner, have created to gain information on potential clients. It may consist of sample
forms that DHS provided you and/or forms that you may have created. The forms in this
toolkit can be used as you see fit. (See Appendix.) Remember DHS policy and the forms they
require once you have become a certified AFH provider. It is good to keep a fresh copy of an
intake packet on hand at all times.
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Timesheets — Timesheets should be kept in this folder for all employees who are being paid
from the business including the AFH owner if he/she receives a payroll paycheck.

e Timesheets should include time for each week and rate of pay. Each employee should
sign the timesheet at the end of each week so that the AFH owner and employee are
agreed with the time worked. This helps to eliminate errors at the time of payroll.

e At the time of payroll, make a copy of each employee’s payroll check and the timesheet
to keep in the employee’s folder.

Employee — Each employee should have a folder designated for their information which you
have on file. This includes: contact information, completed forms AR-4, W-4, |-9, and any
personnel files that you have collected from or about them. This file belongs to you, the AFH
owner, not the employee. [See section on Payroll for more information.]
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HUMAN RESOURCES

Federal Labor Laws

Federal Labor laws change periodically with the economy, a new administration or a push for
new legislation from people in office. It is the responsibility of the business owner to stay
abreast of changes. A business and/or employer should contact the U.S. Dept. of Labor if the
business' sales are over $500,000 and there are more than 4 employees. Ask questions about
child labor laws, minimum wage, Occupational Safety & Health Administration (OSHA), the
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) and the Family Medical Leave Act.

U.S. Department of Labor

200 Constitution Ave., NW

Washington, DC 20210

[-866-4-USA-DOL (1-866-487-2365), TTY: |1-877-889-5627
To learn more about OSHA requirements visit: http://wvvw.osha.gov

To learn more about the ADA: call 800-514-0301 to received materials and publications or
visit: http://www.usdoj.gov/crt/ada/adahoml.htm

Child Labor Laws

Child labor provisions under Fair Labor Standards Act (FSLA) are designed to
protect the educational opportunities of youth and prohibit their employment
in jobs that are detrimental to their health and safety. FLSA restricts the
hours that youth less than 16 years of age can work and lists hazardous
occupations too dangerous for young workers to perform. Enforcement of
the FLSA's child labor provisions is handled by the Department's Wage and

Hour Division.

Minimum Wage

The federal minimum wage for employees is $7.25 per hour effective July 24, 2009. The federal
minimum wage provisions are contained in the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA). Many states
also have minimum wage laws. In cases where an employee is subject to both the state and
federal minimum wage laws, the employee is entitled to the higher of the two minimum wages.
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The Department of Labor’s Wage and Hour Division administers and enforces the federal
minimum wage law.

Little Rock Arkansas District Office
U.S. Department of Labor

Wage and Hour Division

10810 Executive Center Drive
Danville Building 2, Suite 220

Little Rock, AR 7222

Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA)
The FMLA entitles eligible employees of covered employers to take unpaid, job-protected leave
for specified family and medical reasons with continuation of group health insurance coverage
under the same terms and conditions as if the employee had not taken leave. Eligible
employees are entitled to:
e Twelve workweeks of leave in a |2-month period for:
o the birth of a child and to care for the newborn child within one year of birth;
o the placement with the employee of a child for adoption or foster care and to
care for the newly placed child within one year of placement;
o to care for the employee’s spouse, child, or parent who has a serious health
condition;
o a serious health condition that makes the employee unable to perform the
essential functions of his or her job;
o any qualifying exigency arising out of the fact that the employee’s spouse, son,
daughter, or parent is a covered military member on “covered active duty;” or
e Twenty-six workweeks of leave during a single 12-month period to care for a covered
service member with a serious injury or illness who is the spouse, son, daughter, parent,
or next of kin to the employee (military caregiver leave)

Immigration
Employers must verify that an individual whom they plan to employ or continue to employ in
the United States is authorized to accept employment in the United States.

As an employer, you may require the services of a foreign national to work at your company or
business. If the individual is already a permanent resident (green card holder), you may hire
that individual, but you must comply with the employment verification requirements. If the
alien is not already a permanent resident, you will need to file a petition so that the individual
may obtain the appropriate immigrant or nonimmigrant classification. You may choose to file
an immigrant petition (permanent) or a nonimmigrant petition (temporary) on behalf of that
employee.
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Employees must complete From |-9: Employment Eligibility Verification Form (see “Forms

needed for employees”)

To learn more about immigration:
(800) 375-5283 "Ask Immigration" or visit: http://www.uscis.gov/portal/site/uscis

Locally you may contact:
U.S. Department of Labor
10421 West Markham
Little Rock, AR 72205
(501) 324-5436

Working in the Adult Family Home

Working in an Adult Family Home requires necessary skills and possibly certificates. One
possible position that will always be needed is the AFH owner. Here you will see a table that
describes the possible job descriptions of the employees of the AFH.

Provider

Part-time employee
(usually: family member)

Part-time employee
(back up)

Administration

Provide care to residents

Provide care to residents

Marketing/PR/ Sales

Household chores (prepare
meals, wash clothes, clean
dishes, etc.)

Household chores (prepare
meals, wash clothes, clean
dishes, etc.)

Company relations (Chamber
meetings, etc.)

Certified AFH provider, RN,
CAN, LPN, or medical
background

Certified AFH provider, RN,
CAN, LPN, or medical
background

Client file management

Financial Management

Manage relationships with
client family members

Website management, social
media

Provide care to residents

Household chores (prepare
meals, wash clothes, clean
dishes, etc.)

This table can be used as a checklist when hiring employees. Considering the liability of the
senior care industry, you are required to perform a background check on any potential
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employees. Background checks can be performed at the Arkansas State Police Department.
You can contact the department at:

Arkansas State Police Headquarters

| State Police Plaza Drive

Little Rock, AR 72209

501-618-8500 or info@asp.state.ar.us
Background checks can be performed in person at the headquarters or online at
https://www.ark.org/criminal/index.php.

Drug testing is required as part of the hiring process as well. There are numerous clinics which
perform drug testing for employers in the state of Arkansas.

Payroll

Since the AFH is responsible for your clients 24 hours a day, you may consider hiring
employees. If you do not have employees, you may still want to think about what you are going
to pay yourself. After all, why go into business if you cannot make a living.

What is Payroll?

The "payroll period" is defined as a period for which the employer makes payments of wages to
the employee. If an employee has a regular payroll period, taxes should be withheld. When
setting up payroll, you need to make a decision if you will hire an accountant or do it yourself.
In the case of the Adult Family Home, it is most cost effective to do it yourself.

You and/or each employee will need to fill out a federal W-4 form and an Arkansas AR4EC
(see “Forms needed for employees”) to keep on file. This will provide information needed to
calculate taxes to be withheld. Both forms must be kept in each employee’s file.

Employees may want to change the number of withholding
allowances on his or her withholding rate (marital status)
on Form W-4 for a variety of reasons, such as marriage, a
change in the number of dependents, or a change in the
amount of itemized deductions or tax credits anticipated
for the tax year. If you receive a revised Form W-4 from
an employee, you must put it into effect no later than the

\\
V
(\\
start of the first payroll ending on or after the 30" day from

the date you received the revised for W-4.

You should keep blank W-4 forms on hand for the current year so you can provide them to
your current and new employees. An employer can download and print the form W-4 IRS
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website at www.irs.gov. Taxpayers may also order W-4 Forms by calling 800-TAX-FORM
(800-829-3676). TTY/TDD users may call 800-829-4059 to order Forms VV-4.

For additional information, refer to Publication 15 (201 1), (Circular E), Employer's Tax Guide
Publication 505, Tax Withholding and Estimated Tax, Publication 919, How Do | Adjust My Tax
Withholding?, and the Withholding Compliance Questions & Answers on the IRS website at

WWW.irs.gov.

Each employee must also fill out form AR4EC (see “Forms needed for employees”). Similar to
the W-4, it provides slightly different information for payroll purposes.

Owner’s Draw vs. Owner’s Payroll
This is an age old debate. Which will be best for you? There are certainly different tax
implications with each choice.

An owner’s draw is where you, the owner, take money out of the business for personal use.
Whenever you draw money from your business, via ATM, debit card, checks to cash, etc. and
you use it for personal, non-business purposes (pay mortgage, car notes, groceries, family
vacations, dinners, etc.), these are typically considered draws. Draws decrease your business’s
cash but have no effect on expenses or debt (liabilities) as they are part of the Equity section of
your balance sheet and are treated as a decrease in the amount of equity (or worth) you have
in your business. Draws are not eligible for deductions at tax time and, if not treated properly,
may be subject to Self Employment taxes. This is an important reason to plan for your draws
whenever possible.

Should you decide to take a salary, a regular paycheck you receive from your business on a
constant basis, you may be able to categorize this as a business expense. You may receive a
deduction on the total of all business expenses. You will not be subject to a self-employment
tax if you take a salary from your business. The amount of revenue your business brings in will
help you decide if it is better to take a salary or owner’s draw from the business. It is always
best to consult with a tax professional knowledgeable of business tax laws to help you feel
certain about your decision.

Contractors vs. Employees

It is tempting to treat your employees as independent contractors. However, if they do not fit
the IRS definition of an independent contractor then you will be subject to back taxes and
penalties in an event of an audit or complaint filed by your employee.

IRS Publication Topic 762 discusses the difference between an Independent Contractor and an
Employee. There are three tests that determine whether your employee is a contractor or a
common-law employee. If the person is a common law employee under any one test, (s)he
must be treated as an employee and the employer must withhold and pay payroll taxes for the
employee as described below.
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Behavioral Control: If the employer directs or controls how the work is done, through
instructions, training, or other means, the hired person is a common law employee for which
payroll taxes must be paid. An independent contractor is given a task to perform; (s)he
provides his own tools and equipment, schedules his own work and performs similar services
to other employers.

Financial Control: If one or more of the following conditions applies to the hired person, (s)he is
treated as a common law employee:

o The person is reimbursed for business expenses
o The person does not makes his or her services available to other businesses in the
relevant market

Type of Relationship covers facts that show how the parties perceive their relationship. The
hired person is a common law employee if:

e The business provides the worker with employee-type benefits, such as insurance, a
pension plan, vacation pay, or sick pay

e The position is permanent and the services performed by the worker are a key aspect
of the regular business of the company

Based on alt.Consulting’s assessment, persons hired to care for clients in the AFH are to be
treated as common law employees unless they provide similar services for home health care
businesses, nursing homes or other AFHs. You may want to consult with your CPA before
making a final decision.

If you choose to treat the new hire as a contractor, be sure you provide them with a contract
which spells out the expectations that make him/her a contractor and make the person aware
that (s)he is responsible for paying income tax and 5% self-employment tax.

Record Keeping

After the employee completes and signs the Form W-4, you must maintain it in your records.
This form serves as verification that you are withholding federal income tax according to the
employee’s instructions and must be available for inspection if the IRS requests it. Form W-4 is
still subject to review. Employers may be directed (in written notice or in future published
guidance) to send certain W-4 forms to the IRS.

Employee Hiring Forms

W-4, Employee's Withholding Allowance Certificate
Employers are required to deduct federal income taxes from employee's pay and remit the
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money to the government. In order to calculate the correct amount of income tax to be
deducted, an employer uses information provided by the employee on IRS Form W-4. If an
employee does not submit a properly completed W-4 form the employer is required to take
out the maximum amount of income tax. For more information on the form W-2, contact the
IRS. This form can be found at http://www.irs.gov/publ/irs-pdf/fw4.pdf. This form may from
year to year, and it is the employer’s responsibility to know about the changes.

All new employees must fill out a W-4 form. If marital status or number of dependents changes
they must complete a new W-4 form. It is
best to check with your employee every
year for any changes.

AR4EC, Employee’s Withholding

; Exemption Certificate

- The Employee Withholding Exemption
_— :"—2' - ":.' Certificate (Form AR4EC) is used to
determine how much state income tax to
withhold from your employee’s wages. You should have a Form AR4EC showing the number
of exemptions claimed by each employee. Ask all new employees to give you a signed Form
AR4EC when they begin work. Once filed with the employer, Form AR4EC remains in effect
until the employee gives you a new one. Begin withholding no later than the start of the first
payroll period after the receiving the new exemption certificate. The amount the employer
should withhold is noted on the Arkansas Department of Finance and Administration website at

www.dfa.arkansas.gov. Tax tables are located under the tab on the left corner listed as
“Withholding Tax.”

-~

g '::-"" ¥

1-9, Employment Eligibility Verification

All U.S. employers must complete and retain a Form |-9 for each individual hiree for
employment in the United States. This includes citizens and those who are not. The employer
must examine the employment eligibility and identity document(s) an employee presents to
determine whether the document(s) reasonably appear to be genuine and relate to the
individual and record the document information on the Form I-9. The list of acceptable
documents can be found on the last page of the form. This form can be found at

WWW.USCiS.gov.
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Withholding Taxes

Federal Unemployment Tax Act (FUTA)

Federal Unemployment Tax Act (FUTA) works with state unemployment systems. Currently,
the tax rate is 6.2% and is applied to the first $7,000 in wages paid to each employee during the
year. Please view the IRS website to stay up to date on withholding rates. The rates may
change periodically, and it the employer’s responsibility to know when changes are made.
Employers may take a credit against the FUTA tax for amounts paid into state unemployment
funds. If entitled to the maximum credit, the FUTA tax rate is .8%. Employers utilizing
independent contractors do not pay FUTA tax on these individuals. FUTA tax deposits can be
made quarterly and reported annually, using Form 940 or 940-EZ.

As an employer, you are required by law to file wage reports on a quarterly basis whether or
not wages have been paid in the quarter to the Arkansas Department of Workforce Services.
You may submit reports by utilizing forms mailed to you by the agency. For the Adult Family
Home business form 209 B must be filed each quarter. Failure to receive a report does not
relieve you of your responsibility to file.

Federal Withholding

Every employer is responsible for reporting the withholdings from their employees’ payroll.
This is the Federal Income Tax, also known as FICA (Federal Insurance Contributions Act) and
Medicare. This is the most important withholding from payroll because it is a crime if an
employer takes money from the employee’s payroll and does not report these deductions
and/or uses the funds elsewhere. Federal withholding must be reported quarterly and is due on
the 15" of the following quarter with form 941.

State Unemployment Insurance Taxes

By now your business should have an EIN and employees (you and possibly one or two more
helpers). You will need to register with the state to receive your State Unemployment Insurance
ID. This is different from the State Tax ID number. You can use form AR-4ER obtained from
their office or visit the website at
https://www.employment.arkansas.gov/ERSWeb/ers/Security/VWWelcomePage.jsp and register for
a new employer account. You will answer a few simple questions to complete the online form
and have your State Unemployment Insurance ID in 10 to |5 minutes.

The Arkansas Department of Workforces Services urges all employers to take advantage of
filing and paying (quarterly) State Unemployment Insurance Taxes online. The online service may
be accessed through their web site at www.arkansas.gov/esd/, Employer Services, Online Ul
Tax Filings & Payments or by going to the Official State of Arkansas Tax Portal at www.ar-

tax.org.
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Obtaining a State Tax ID

Once you have obtained employees you will need to apply for a
State Tax ID number. This is obtained from the Arkansas
Department of Finance and Administration. You will need this number to report your state tax
withholdings (monthly for startups; you can request quarterly later) from any and all payroll for
employees of the AFH.

There are two ways to obtain a State Tax ID number. You may fill out the form AR-IR and
return it to:

Department of Finance and Administration

PO Box 8123

Little Rock, AR 72203-8123

501- 682-1895 (Call for assistance with the form if
needed)

You may also apply online at https://atap.arkansas.gov/. Once you have located this web page
you may need to update software to run the program. At the bottom of the page there is a
link that reads “New Business Registration.” Follow this link to gain your State Tax ID number.
There is a tutorial at the top of the page you may want to review before registering. You
should browse through it to become better acquainted with the website; however it is very
easy to follow. If you have questions about the website, you can call 501-683-2877. When
registering by either method, you should have the following items on hand to help make the
process easier:

Business Structure or Articles of Corporation

EIN

Business License

Contact Information

Business Owner Information (name, address, contact
information, etc.)

*Note: When signing up for a State Tax ID, please remember that this type of business will not
collect or pay sales tax.

You will use the State Tax ID number to pay and report withholdings from payroll to:
Arkansas Department of Finance and Administration
Ledbetter Revenue Building
7th and Wolfe, Room 225,
P.O. Box 9941
Little Rock, Arkansas 7220
Phone: (50 1) 682-2212
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The form used in reporting state withholdings is form 209 B. The Arkansas Department of
Finance and Administration usually sends the forms. However, if they do not, it is your
responsibility to obtain the form and report these withholdings.

TYPE OF TAX FEDRAL OR FORM FREQUENCY
STATE
Federal Federal 940 Paid quarterly and
Unemployment reported annually
Federal Income Tax Federal 941/940 Quarterly — due on
Withholding (FICA | 5" of the following
and Medicare) quarter
Arkansas State AR-209 B Quarterly
Unemployment
Insurance
Arkansas Withholding | State AR-94| Monthly for Startups
Tax (Can later request
quarterly)

Computing Withholding Tax

There are methods for computing Arkansas withholding. Withholding can be computed using
the tables provided by the Arkansas Department of Finance and Administration or using the
withholding tax formulas provided by the Arkansas Department of Finance and Administration.
The tables include tax amounts for daily, weekly, biweekly, semi-monthly and monthly payroll
schedules. Employers who use a computer can use the tax formula or also when the
dependents claimed exceeds the number of dependents provided by the tables. You can find
the tax tables on the Arkansas Department of Finance and Administration’s website
http://www.dfa.arkansas.gov/ and view the section on withholding tax. You will also find tax
forms at this site. If you have questions, call 501-682-7290.

Failure to Pay Penalty

When an employer fails to pay the amount shown as tax on any return required to be filed by
the state, (s)he must pay a penalty. Unless it can be shown that the failure is due to reasonable
cause and not willful neglect, there will be an amount added to the current tax of five percent
(5%) per month or a fraction thereof. The penalty will not exceed thirty-five percent (35%) of
the tax. You can view the penalty schedule on the Arkansas Department of Finance and

Administration’s website http://www.dfa.arkansas.gov/.
Fa
-
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INSURANCE

Insurance is something that we all have to think about at some point in life. This applies to
your AFH too. You will need to consider how and if you want protect yourself, your
employees, and your business. Insurance provides us with a safety net.

Homeowner’s Insurance

If you owe a mortgage on your home, chances are you already have basic homeowner’s
insurance. If not, it is important to consider a homeowner’s insurance policy so that in the
event of a fire or water damage, you do not lose your business while you are trying to
determine how to pay for repairs. If you do not own the home, you may want to check into a
good renter’s insurance policy. Homeowner’s insurance or renter’s insurance is required for
all AFHs.

However, homeowner’s and renter’s insurance is not always enough when you operate an
AFH.

Professional Liability Insurance

Professional Liability Insurance protects you and your business with coverage for claims related
to allegations of negligent activities or failure to use reasonable care. You will most likely need
business insurance specifically designed to address the risks associated with Senior Care
Industry services. As the AFH owner, you should search for insurance that will protect your
business appropriately. This type of insurance is most likely found at commercial insurance
companies. Since AFHs are new businesses in Arkansas you may have to explain the activities
of your business in an interview with your agent.

Although you may carry insurance on your home, this will not be sufficient enough to cover the
business. Home owners insurance covers the home and anything that happens in the home.
EXAMPLE: You have a grease fire while preparing breakfast. Most repairs to your kitchen
are covered.

Professional liability insurance usually covers anything that happens in the home that pertains to
the business. EXAMPLE: Your client experiences third degree burns from the grease fire in
the kitchen.
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Research has shown that a professional liability insurance policy will cost from $1000 to $3000
a year with a common $500 deductible in the state of Arkansas. Depending on the size of the
home and the specific needs of the AFH, the policies and corresponding costs will vary.

*NOTE: Purchasing insurance for your business does not prevent a client or his/her family
from seeking legal action against you for an accident in the home. Insurance is strictly
precautionary and you should consult with your insurance agent on the best decisions for your
business. DHS EldersChoice does not require you to purchase professional liability insurance.
However, from a business perspective, it is recommended.

Health Insurance

Now that you have a business, you have many things to consider. Providing benefits to your
employees may be one of the issues on your mind. Health insurance is a common benefit that
most employers provide to their employees. As a business owner, you may be concerned
about your own health and how you will cover the cost of health insurance as a business
owner.

You may assist your employees in the search for individual health insurance and/or perform a
search for your own. Health insurance premiums for you and your employee are considered a
business expense.

Arkansas legislators approved a program to help small business owners and their employees
called ARHealthNetworks. ARHealthNetworks is owned by the State of Arkansas through the
Department of Human Services (DHS). It is a healthcare benefits program designed for small
businesses and self-employed individuals who currently do not have medical coverage in the
state of Arkansas. This plan is available to working Arkansans who can qualify through their
own business or their employer.

ARHealthNetworks costs most enrollees just $25 per month (depending on the family income
level) with no medical questions asked and no pre-existing condition penalties. A business
owner and his or her employees must enroll for ARHealthNetworks through a business entity.
Certain qualifications must be met by you, the business owner, and your employees. Not all
employers qualify to sponsor enrollment through ARHealthNetworks.

If you, as an employer, qualify to sponsor this benefit through ARHealthNetworks, then all full-
time employees must enroll, unless they are already covered through a spouse or through an
individual policy. ARHealthNetworks is only available to employers who have not offered a
group health plan to their employees within the past |12 months or longer. Employers must
have at least one full-time employee (30 hours per week), but no more than 500 employees.
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At least one enrolled employee must meet the income qualifications which are based on total
household income and family size.

Please note: You can ask your employee to pay for a portion or the premium.

If you are interested in this program for your business you may visit their website at
http://www.arhealthnetworks.com or contact customer support at NovaSys Health (1-800-540-
7566). You may also send an email to arhealthnetworks@novasyshealth.com.
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BUSINESS FINANCES

When running a business it is important to keep your finances in order. Because this is a
home-based business, it can be easy to mix business and personal expenses. This is
dangerous! Business finances should be kept separate from personal finances. This helps keep
business affairs easy to understand by you or the IRS, should you be audited. Even if the
business is a sole-proprietor, it should be treated as a separate entity with its own
responsibilities. This is why it is important to maintain a separate business bank account. This
is also why it is suggested that you pay yourself from the business as an employee.

The following section provides you a number of tools to put you in control of your finances.
However, we strongly recommend that you develop a relationship with a CPA before tax time.
You may ask them to review your data and tools to make additional suggestions. It is also
recommended that you ask a CPA to complete your tax returns. Existing providers have
sometimes found it challenging to find the support they need from businesses specializing only
in simple tax returns.

Below you will find two ways of keeping up with your finances as they pertain to the business:
the Cashflow Management Tool and QuickBooks. You will also find a budgeting tool known as
the Financial Model Template.

Cashflow Management Tool

Tracking cashflow in your business is important in order to control your business's growth,
reductions and everyday management of expenses and income. A cashflow management tool
designed specifically for this type of business is offered here and the provider must have
Microsoft Excel Program in order to operate it efficiently. It can be accessed in other
spreadsheet programs, but this limits the tool’s effectiveness. The instructions provided are for
the Microsoft Excel program.

When you view the cashflow management tool, you will see a list of cash available, expenses,
vendors, and a list of receivables (money owed to you). These are in column A. In columns B -
C you will see Projection, Vendor/Customer and Actual. The dates will appear above each and
are recognized in seven day increments. The date listed is the Friday before the week for
which you are planning. This is done so you will plan in advance for the following week.

When you calculate available cash, you need to check your business bank account for your
available balance and subtract any outstanding checks or debits to have a true balance to enter
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into the beginning balance on line 3. This is done each Friday afternoon before planning how to
spend cash during the following week.

Each week has three columns. The Projection column (blue) is for what you think or plan to
spend or receive for the week. You will insert that figure in this column. The next column
listed as the Vendor/Customer. This column is strictly for notes or any memos you want to
make in reference to money coming in or going out. This can be an invoice number, check
number, customer/vendor name, or nickname for a project. The third column (orange) is listed
as Actual. This is where you will record each day what really happens — the payments you
receive and the payments you make. It is tied to the bottom of the spreadsheet which
calculates the money remaining as you expend money. Remember the blue (Projection)
column is what you project and the orange (Actual) column is what really happens.

Expenses are listed as they pertain to your business, such as cable, if that is a service you
provide to your clients. Please note all the expenses that go along with household expenses.
These are expenses of the household that the business uses as well. The business portion of
your household expenses is based on the percentage of your home actually used for your
clients. For all expenses to be paid, you will find this total beside “Sub-Total Payable” cell.

EXAMPLE: 1648 sq. ft. = total square feet of the house
240 sq. ft. = portion of the house dedicated to clients (the business)

Divide the portion of the house used by the business by the total square
feet of the house to get the percentage of the house used by business

14.5% is the percentage of the house used by the business

CALCULATION:
240 sq ft

1648 sq. ft.

Please note: The portion of the house dedicated to clients include client bedrooms and the
bathroom(s) used only by clients. All other shared space such as the living room and kitchen
which are not solely dedicated to clients should not be included in the calculation.

The receivables are listed under the expenses. This is money you will receive from your clients
and Medicaid. There are a few lines where you can add more receivables. The spreadsheet will
calculate your net cash as you enter figures. It will also calculate your monthly profits at the
end of each month.
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Each Friday, you need to go through this process. Verify your available cash based on the bank
account minus any outstanding credits. This ensures that you do not carry mistakes forward to
the next week.

Financial Model Template

The Financial Model is a tool to help the business owner budget for each month and help to
visualize the profit and loss of the business for each month and throughout the year. This
model is where, you, the business owner can determine:

¢  When and how much to pay yourself,

e Expenses the business can take on,

e Rates you will need to charge private paying customers in order to breakeven or make a

profit
e Amount you can spend on items used by clients (cost of goods sold).

This tool has been created in Microsoft Excel. The provider must have Microsoft Excel in
order to operate it efficiently. It can be accessed in other spreadsheet programs, but these
limit the tool’s effectiveness. The instructions given are for the Microsoft Excel program.

This tool uses multiple spreadsheets which are connected to each other. The names of the
sheets can be found at the bottom of the spreadsheet. Click on any sheet to navigate your way
through this model. Each sheet is tied to the next with formulas. This model will calculate
everything for you.

The first sheet in this model is called Rates and Revenues. It lists the possible revenue streams
from your clients. DHS clients will most likely be listed as Level C clients, and therefore,
Private Pay clients have been listed the same way. Should DHS rates change, simply click the
cell for the rate and enter the new amount. You can do the same for Private Pay clients. You
may change the Daily Rates and the Room & Board Rates and everything will change
automatically throughout the model.

The second sheet in the model is called the Input Sheet. This is used to determine the
percentage of your house that is dedicated to clients/the businesses. Once you determine the
percentage dedicated to clients, you can determine the percentage of each household expense
for which the business should pay.

The cells that are blue are your input cells. Each time you change the figures in these cells you
will see the output cells change. The output cells tell you how much the business is
contributing to the household expenses based on the percentage of the house used by the
business. The Rates & Revenues sheet and the Input sheet are both tied to the Income
Statement sheet.
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The third sheet is the Income Statement sheet. This sheet lists income, cost of goods sold,
expenses, and profit and loss for the business. Listing is for the entire, month by month.
When you change the figures on the Rate and Revenues page, you will see the changes here
according to those made for clients in each category (DHS or Private Pay). The yellow cells
indicate how many clients you have. If you change the number of clients, this will also change
the revenues for each month. Because these cells are tied together, you never have to
calculate the net revenue for each month.

You will notice the item line of Adult Daycare in the Revenue section. You will have to
manually input figures which you expect to earn from month to month because this is an
optional part of AFH business model. If you wish to have three clients in the AFH, you should
remember that in order to add the Adult Daycare to the business you must be certified by the
Department of Human Services because state mandated requirements indicate that once you
have three clients and add an Adult Daycare client the business must be certified to provide
Adult Daycare Services. While you may have to manually input the figures here month by
month (if you choose to add these services), those figures will be added in the monthly net
revenue cell.

Cost of Goods Sold section is tied to each client. You will not have to enter anything here. As
you change the number of clients, the cost will change and thus calculating itself, automatically
giving you the total cost of goods sold (COGS).

Cost of Goods are the direct expenses you incur by serving the client. The most important is
food cost.

Most providers find it convenient to shop for the entire household, pay for it personally and
then have the business reimburse the provider for the food consumed by clients. It is easiest to
calculate this based on the following formula instead of trying to determine who in your house
is eating what!

Food costs are based on the total number of people living in the household. For example, your
AFH serves two clients and they live in your home with you and two other family members.

Number of members in household = 2 clients + 3 family members =5

Take each food bill; divide it by 5 to get the average cost of feeding one individual. Then,
multiply this by 2 to determine the food costs related to the business of caring for the two
clients.

Example: Your grocery bill is $100.

$100 = $20 This is the average food cost per member in household.
5
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$20 x 2 clients = $40 This is the amount that the business should reimburse you for
paying the sample grocery bill.

Gross Profit is calculated for you as well. This is the profit you have made before overhead
expenses.

The next section is Expenses. All expenses are tied to the next cell to the right. If you add
input into the first month, the next month’s amount will automatically be entered because of
the way the formulas are created in this spreadsheet. It eliminates work on your part. All cells
highlighted in blue come from the input sheet and there is no need for you to change these
figures on this spreadsheet. They are calculated for you.

Toward the bottom of this sheet you will see your earnings before taxes and your business
income or loss. This sheet continues for 12 months and gives you the totals for years |, 2 and
3. (See business plan - financials for explanation of the finances)

The next sheets are the balance sheet and the cash flow statement. These are important to the
functioning of the model but not that important for AFH providers.

QuickBooks

QuickBooks Pro is accounting software with which businesses can keep up with their finances.
It is very popular among small business owners who have no formal accounting training because
it is easy to use. The software can be purchased at most major retail outlets where software is
sold.

Once you purchase QuickBooks Pro the license belongs to you. You will want to think about
the computer on which you want to install it. Once it is installed, the license is tied to that

computer and cannot be transferred. Here you learn about installation; the chart of accounts;
items and services; paying bills; creating invoices; recording payments and deposits; and payroll.

Things you will need:
e QuickBooks Pro software
Business license
Business bank account number
List of expenses
Copies of bills/invoices with account numbers
List of services you will provide and their cost to the customer
Any paper work for assets that the business will carry such as a car or home (this is
your decision)
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Please Note: The instructions below are intended for individuals who have some basic
familiarity with accounting or bookkeeping. A provider interested in using QuickBooks may
contact the following resources for additional assistance:

e A local QuickBooks adviser can be found at

http://proadvisor.intuit.com/accountant-match

Most CPAs in Arkansas are familiar with or use QuickBooks. Some are willing to help clients
set up QuickBooks. You may want to provide your CPA the following instructions in order to
make his/her work easier when setting up your company records.

Installation
Installation is simple and quick. Follow all instructions given to you by the software.
I. Insert the QuickBooks CD into the CD or DVD drive. The installation wizard should
begin automatically.
2. Be sure to read the Software License Agreement. If you agree, select | accept the terms
in the license agreement, and click Next.

Select the type of installation. In this case you may want to choose Express.

4. Answer all of the interview questions in order to setup QuickBooks. This is where you
will create the QuickBooks company file.

5. After QuickBooks Simple Start begins, , you may also see a message box that asks if you
want to register QuickBooks. At this point, you will need to register your software so
you may continue to use it. You can also register by choosing File and then Register
QuickBooks: Simple Start.

w

Chart of Accounts

QuickBooks makes it easy for you to set up a chart of accounts. A chart of accounts is simply a
list of your accounts used to track financial transactions in your small business. You can find
your chart of accounts by clicking on Lists and then going down to Chart of Accounts. You may
also find the Chart of Accounts on the Home page in the Company section. You will see the
default list. General types of accounts are listed as assets, liabilities and then equity. After
equity, you will see your income accounts and then your expenses.

Print the default list and decide which accounts you want to keep and which you want to
delete. To delete an account:

e Click on and highlight the account you want to delete

e Click on the Account button at the bottom of the window

e Go to delete and click.

Setting up the list by adding more accounts:
I. Click on the account button at the bottom of the window
2. Select New. (Add New Account window will pop up)
3. Select the type of account you are adding
4. Click continue (second Add New Account window pops up
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Type in name of account

6. If the account is a sub-account, click the Sub-account of box and select parent
account from the drop-down list. EXAMPLE: Under insurance you may list the
different types of insurance.

7. From the Tax-Line Mapping drop-down list, select the tax line on which you will
be reporting this account’s information. Please refer to your accountant for
accurate account information with your tax listing.

8. Click Save & Close if you are finished or click Save and New to add additional
accounts.

9. You can use the DHS Financial Model Template’s income statement sheet to

help you decide in which category each account belongs, such as expenses, cost

of goods sold, etc.

Items and Services
Now that you have created your chart of accounts, you should be prepared to enter your
items and services. Here, you can invoice clients for both items and services.

When you create an invoice, you can enter products and services directly on the invoice, and
Billing Manager saves them in the Items & Services folder. Once you have saved a product or
service, Billing Manager helps you complete this field. VWhen you type the first letter of a
product or service, a list appears showing all the saved items which begin with that letter. Click
to select the one you want to add to your invoice.

Setting up Item and Services:

I. On the left side of any Billing Manager screen, click ltems & Services. You can also find
this section on the Home page under the company profile in the top right hand corner
of the screen.

2. Click Create an Item or Service. Enter a Description of your product or service

3. Click the Units drop-down to select the category which best describes your product or
service.

4. If you bill for a service, select Hour, Day, or Month according to how you bill. If you
want to enter a simple Lump Sum, choose that option. For Unit Price ($), if you bill
for a service, example: $50.00/hour, enter the price here. If this is an item price,
remember to enter the price for a single item.

Below is a list of items and services used by other AFHs:
e DHS Care
e Private Pay Care
e Room and Board from DHS client #1
e Private Pay Room and Board
e Haircuts
e Manicures
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*Note: Based on conversations with the Arkansas Department of Finance and Administration in
201 1. The services of an AFH are not taxable. Please be aware that the sales tax code
changes. You should check with DFA once a year to determine if your non-taxable status is
still accurate.

Please note: It is recommended that haircuts and manicures be provided by professionals and
billed to the client. The AFH provider may choose to pay the professional and then bill the
client/family.

Entering and Paying Bills
There are two ways to manage your bill payments in QuickBooks. The simplest way is to enter
the payment (whether by check, credit card or cash) into QuickBooks. However, the best way
for most companies to manage bill payments in QuickBooks is to enter the bills and then pay
them. This takes a little more time, but it is still very simple and there are some significant
advantages:
e It helps you control your cash as long as possible by making it easy to pay bills when
they are due, not before
e |t helps you to keep track of how much money is owee. Rather than looking at the
bills, you can look at the Accounts Payable Aging Report to see exactly how much you
owe and when the payments are due.
e If you always use the entering and paying bills method, you will find it easier to review
historical transactions.

Regardless of the method you use, to enter bills open the Enter Bills window from the Vendor
menu.

How to enter bills:

I. Fill the bill out exactly as you would a check.

2. Enter the details (date, payee, and amount) just as you would in your manual checkbook.
Do not forget to add the check number.

3. In the Ref. No. field, insert the invoice number or something which clearly identifies this
bill. If you enter this reference number again in the future, QuickBooks will prompt you
to check if you have already paid this bill.

4. For Bill Due, enter the date by which the bill must be paid. If you print your checks, fill
out the account or invoice number on the Memo line so it will appear on your check.
Then assign the payment to an account.

5. Finally, if you track items by customer: job and/or class, complete these fields.

6. Click Save & Close if you are done or Save & New to enter another bill.

Once your bills have been entered, they appear in QuickBooks as accounts payable.
QuickBooks makes it easy to wait to pay them until they are due, thus making it easy for you to
keep up with your business’s cashflow. When you pay bills, QuickBooks debits the accounts
payable account and credits cash, so it is easy to see exactly which bills you have received but
not yet paid.
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How to pay bills:

l.
2.

4.

Open the Pay Bills window from the Vendor menu

In the QuickBooks Pay Bills window, you can choose whether to see all bills or only
those due by a certain date.

Select the ones you want to pay, the payment method (check), and ,if you will be
printing them, and the payment date to print on the checks. Click Pay Selected Bills.
If you use printed checks, the last step is to print your checks.

*NOTE: You may use printed checks or manual checks when paying bills to a vendor.

Creating Invoices

QuickBooks Pro makes it simple to create an invoice for a customer. There are two ways to
create an invoice in QuickBooks Pro, depending on how the software is setup on your
computer. Click the Invoice icon from the menu at the top of the screen. You may also
choose Create Invoice from the Activities menu on the text menu screen. The invoice
template will appear on the screen.

o

Type the name of the customer in the Customer Job box at the top of the screen. If the
invoice is for a returning customer, only a few letters are required as the list will allow
you to choose from customers meeting the names of the typed letters.

Choose Quick Add or Set Up if the Customer Not Found box appears on your screen.
Quick Add is useful if the invoice is for a one time purchase while Set Up is used for
those clients whom you know will be continuing in residence.

Fill in the client’s name and address in the Bill To section of the invoice template if you
chose the Quick Add feature. If you chose the Set Up option, follow the onscreen
prompts to set up the client’s information.

Choose which type of invoice you want to prepare from the Custom Invoice options at
the top of the template on the right hand side. You have the choice of Product, Service,
or Professional. Fill in the Item, Quantity, Description, Rate and Amount boxes which are
appropriate for the item/service provided.

Fill in a Customer message such as “Thank you for your business” if desired in the text
box on the lower left side of the template.

Click Print to print the invoice.

Click "OK" to save the invoice to the QuickBooks Pro bookkeeping system.

Recording payments and deposits
Once you have created an invoice you will need to send it and be paid from it. You will need
to know how to record payments and deposits.
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Recording Payments:

I. From the Customers menu, select Receive Payments. The Customer Payment window will
open.

2. In the Received From box, select the appropriate customer. Enter the rest of the
requested information on this screen. Remember to include the check number, if paid
by check, and the payment type.

3. If QuickBooks does not automatically select the appropriate invoice, select it manually.
Your customer may have included this information on the check or check stub. If
necessary, apply credits by clicking the Discounts & Credits button.

4. Click the Save button and repeat for all customer checks received.

When finished, scroll down to Record Bank Deposits of Customer Payments.

b

Now, you record customer/client payments. Instructions below will ensure you record
deposits correctly. This also ensures that the customer payments appearing in your
QuickBooks check register match what appears on your bank statement.

Recording Deposits:

I. From the Banking menu, select Make Deposits. You can also go to Make Deposits from
the Home page in the Banking Center. The Payments to Deposit window will open once
you have selected Make Deposits.

2. Place a checkmark next to the payments you will deposit. Click Ok. QuickBooks takes
these payments and places them in the Make Deposits window. In the Make Deposits
window, be sure the Deposit To account is the correct one. Also, be sure of the date.

3. Before clicking Save, you can print a deposit slip (if you have QuickBooks compatible
deposit slips pre-printed with your account information) or obtain a blank deposit slip
(usually located in the back of your check register) and complete it using the
information on this screen. Be sure to include each check individually, as well as the
total.

4. Save the transaction.

Endorse the back of the checks with a rubber stamp or signature approved by your
bank.
6. Go to the bank and make your deposit.

b

Once you have completed these steps you should review your work.
¢ Ina day or two, sign on to your bank's online services and/or check with your
personal banker to confirm the deposit.
e Open QuickBooks and check it there, as well. The amounts should be identical,
and the dates should be within a day or two of each other. This will make your
bank reconciliations easier-.

Payroll in QuickBooks
Now that you have mastered how to run the business in QuickBooks, it is necessary to pay
your employees for their services. To setup Payroll in QuickBooks, you will need to purchase
QuickBooks’ downloadable services. For the AFH, the version needed is the basic version. It
is for three or fewer employees.
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Things you will need:

©)

Quick Pro payroll basic version (will be downloaded from your current software at the
bottom of the Home screen)

Internet Connection

Completed employee forms:

e AR-4EC
e WHA4
e |9

Payroll checks (manually written or printed)
Listing of tax rates:
¢ Arkansas Withholding
Federal Withholding
Arkansas Unemployment Pin number and tax rate
Federal Unemployment tax rate

Setting up payroll:

l.
2.

3.

Review the payroll check list given to you by the Quickbooks payroll assistant.

Enter names and addresses for all employees. This information is found on all
completed employee forms. All employees, including the owner, should be noted as
Regular.

When adding new employees, be sure to look at change tabs and add input to all layers.

If you need to change or add tax information:

l.
2.
3.

Go to the employee dropdown menu and select Manage Payroll Items.
Select View/Edit Payroll ltems and double click Items
When each tax or withholding is shown, make the necessary changes

Creating payroll Checks:

l.
2.

3.
4.

v

No

9.

Choose an hourly rate.

In the Employee Center you will need to click the Payroll tab. You should see three
sections to the right of the screen.

Choose Pay Employees and pick a pay period and check date.

Check the name of the employee to pay and select Continue.

Open the check detail and preview the pay check screen pop-ups. Enter in the hours as
well as review all the withholdings and taxes.

Click Save & Close.

Review the information and then click Create Paychecks.

Click Print Paychecks. If you are not using the printed check option, manually write the
check.

View the payroll summary and print each time you perform the payroll task.

Please note: It is strongly recommended that you consult your CPA to review your payroll
module because the IRS holds you responsible for the amount of taxes withheld and paid on
behalf of your employee (and yourself).
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Medicaid Billing

As a provider who accepts clients from the Department of Human Services’ ElderChoices
program, you must be a Medicaid provider. When you become certified through the
Department of Human Services, you will receive a Medicaid provider number. This is used
when you bill the Arkansas Department of Human Services for care services provided to
ElderChoices clients.

Setting Up Your Account

When you become a certified AFH provider, you will receive a number and contact information
for a representative from Arkansas Medicaid for your corresponding county. If you do not
received your Medicaid provider representative contact information, you can gain this
information her at https://www.medicaid.state.ar.us/InternetSolution/default.aspx. Go to the
website and click Provider at the top of the page. Look to the left hand side of the screen until
you see “Meet your HP Enterprise Services provider rep.” You will be able to view the
Medicaid representative for each county. Click your county to find your representative’s name
and contact information. This website will also provide you with any updates to the Medicaid
program that you, as the provider, will need.

In order to gain access to your account and begin billing you will need to enter your login
information. This was given to you when you became a provider. Generally, you login will be
the provider’s 9-digit Medicaid ID number. Your beginning password will be the provider
number you were given upon certification. If you do not have this information, you can call
(800) 457-4454 or (501) 376-2211 for more help.

@.\- A é. https: | fvw, medicaid. state. ar.us!
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Once you have entered in your login ID and password, you will be directed to change your
password. Write it down once you have created a new password and keep it in a safe place.
Choose the appropriate questions to which only you will know the answers.
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Qme energd rovider QNsUmer 2esedrc ITe map
edicaid

Wyhat's new for Arkansas PrOVider

Iedicaid providers

My information information

Log an
Forgot my passwaord Frovider information is a

collection of tools for
Enrollment individuals and organizations \ i
Provider enrollment that provide health care \ !
information services to Arkansas | .&'
Start an application Medicaid beneficiaries. \ s
Continue an application Mavigate this section using i
Check an application's the links on the left.
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If you enter your login information incorrectly more than three times, your account will be
locked. If this happens, you will need to choose the “recover your password” link.

An error occurred

« Your accountis locked. Please recover your
passwiord before continuing.

Azkansas " - G 1| Provider| C IR | sit
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NPI Reporting (National Provider Identifier)

Under your account, you will need to update your contact information. In this section, you will

be able to update your information. You can also check your client’s eligibility and any claims,
as well as the claim status.
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Billing for Medicaid
Let’s begin to bill for client payment.

I. In order to start a new claim click on “Professional Claim”.
2. To void or adjust a previous claim, click “Professional Claim

3 welcome to Arkansas Medicaid - Windows Internet Explorer provided by HP - Arkansas Title XIX

& bty

fiedicaid

-Preaciibing srojec

s a collection of tocls tailorsd to mest your
javigate this section using the links on the left
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(800) 457-4454  In-stats toll-free
{501) 376-2211 Lo ot

stats
(877) 870-2273 (B!

reversal”.
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QBack - © - [ [& @ P Search FrFavorites ® @~ & I - JE O Q@

M ed ica id Return to "y infarmation

Health Care Claim: Professional

I

Eliaibility Beneft Inquiry Supmitter

Claim Status Request
Complete the organization's name you are filing the claim for, the erganization’s electronic transmitter

_ identification number and your name and business telephone number.
Claim Summary

Entity Type (required):  Last/Organizatien Name (required).  First Name:

Charges: 5.00 .
-Pers (v
Other Insurance: g [Merrersentny (v I
Electronic Transmitter identification Number:
Billed Amount: $.00 l:|
Senices: - ctronic tranzmitter identificstion sumber?

Header | COB | Senvices

JSubmit |

Name (required) Telephone Number (required)

Address ‘@ https://www.medicaid.state.ar.us/DDE/Claim/Health CareClaimProfessional .aspx v ‘ Go Links ”
-~
Arbansas DDE home | Support ]

v

3. Select the entity type. For Individual Providers, enter Person and for the

Group/Organization, enter Non-Person.

4. Enter the Last Name/Organization Name/First Name. In this case, the Group provider
is not required to complete the first name. The individual provider must complete both
last and first names. If you are uncertain of your provider status, contact your Medicaid

representative.

5. Enter your Electronic Submitter ID. If you do not know your Medicaid Submitter 1D

number, then enter 88888888.
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6. Enter the name and phone number of the person who is billing.
This is you as the AFH provider.

3 Arkansas Medicaid - Windows Internet Explorer provided by HP - Arkansas Title... \;H@FX\

File Edit View Favorites Tools Help o
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[nEw FeF noT REQURED I[
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000000001
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L]

il

Taxonomy:

l

Address (required):

123 AR MEDICAID)|

City (required) State (required) Zip Code (required)

!

Your next screen should be the Billing Provider as shown above. The billing provider’s name,
SSN/Tax ID, and address should already appear in this section. The Medicaid Provider ID/NPI
should be left blank unless the provider is not required to have an NPl number. You will need
to check with your Medicaid representative to learn your status on this issue. However, in
this case, enter the provider’s Medicaid ID # and leave the NPI field blank. The Taxonomy
should only be entered if it is required. You will need to check with your Medicaid
representative to learn your status on this issue, as well.

2 Arkansas Medicaid - Windows Internet Explorer provided by HP - Arkansas ... |:HE|§|
-

File Edit View Favorites Tools Help 0

QBack - © - M B @ PSearch “rFavoritess & 2y & v - UE O @
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Subscriber i

The subscriber refers to the Medicaid recipient. Complste the subscribers name, Medicaid recipient
1D, address and demagraphics

Payer Responsibility Sequence Number Code: Tertiary

Individual Relatienship Code: 18 (Self)

Last Name (reguired): First Name (reguired) Middle Mame:
Medicaid Recipient ID (required]:

Address (required):

City (required): State (required}: Zip Code (required):

‘ HArkanaaa v || |

Birth Date (required): Gender (required):
—

As shown above, you are now viewing the subscriber information page. The subscriber refers
to the Medicaid recipient. In the case of the AFH, this is the client. Enter the client’s
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information: Last Name, First Name, Middle Name (not required), Medicaid ID number,
Address, Date of Birth (Format is YYYYMMDD). If DOBis 01/01/2010 enter as 20100101.
You will also enter the gender.

Eile Edit View Favorites Tools Help o
@ Back - © ¥ @ @ . Search Favorites > & b - 2800
Address &] https://wvaw.medicaid.state.ar.us/DDE/Claim/Health CareClaimProfessional .aspx ~|BGo Links 7

Claim Information

Patient Account Humber (required Total Claim Charge Amount:

00

~

Date Last Seen:

Onset of Current liness

Claim Frequency Type Code (required);

of Informs

“es, Provider Has a Sign

Accident Date

Claim information will be entered on the next screen as shown above. Enter the information
as follows:

e Patient Account Number: Number assigned by the provider
Facility Code Value: Place of service
Date Last seen/Onset of Current lliness: Not Required
Claim Frequency Type Code: Original Claim, Replacement, or Void of prior claim
Related Causes Code: Only if services were related to auto accident, employment, etc.
Special Program Code: Select EPSDT from drop down box if an EPSDT Screening was
performed

The next thirteen (I3) screens will pop up and you will enter the information as it pertains to
your claim. In this case, your claim is the fee you receive for ElderChoices clients’ care. Go to
the Adding a Service screen and enter the final information for your claim. Click the Add
button; it will add your service to the top of the screen. Once you have added the first service,
you can add additional services. The Submit button will turn red once you have added at least
one service. When the submit button is red, you may submit your claim.

You should receive payment within 2 to 4 weeks from the day you submit your claim. To
confirm your claim status, you can check your account or call your Medicaid representative.

If you need further information and training, the Arkansas Medicaid program provides many
virtual workshops as well as in-person workshops. Be sure to read your newsletters and visit
the Arkansas Medicaid website often for updates.
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MARKETING PLAN

This marketing plan is also included in the business plan provided to you as part of the overall
AFH Toolkit. To be effective, this marketing plan requires constant follow up until sufficient
clients are secured. Marketing an AFH is about building relationships and trust with both

referral sources and families.

Features and Benefits

Features

« Beds

o Private rooms of up to 140 sq ft

« Access to phone

« Family atmosphere

« Cold A/C in summer and warm heat in winter
« Transportation to medical facilities as needed
o Clean environment

o Wheel chair accessible

« Meals prepared

o Private closet space

« Provider is certified by DHS

Benefits

o Personal care —

Help with incontinence

Assistance with dressing

Aid in moving about the premises/home
Medication reminders

o O O O
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o Laundry services provided
o Toiletries
o Linens
« Socializing with others in addition to family members
« Safe environment
« CableTV
o Outings
« Birthday parties and holidays celebrations
« Mild exercise program
« 3 Healthy meals a day plus snack included in price
o 24/7 companionship
« Easy visitation schedules for family members
« Gardening in the spring

Note: The maximum home capacity is 3 for DHS and VA client based homes.

Please note: AFH providers may want to utilize the benefits listed above in marketing literature.
The family choosing an AFH over a nursing facility for their loved one is doing so based on the

benefits and not the features which may or may not be comparable with a nursing facility.

Target Markets

Family members and Caretakers

« Individuals ages 30-50 with elderly parents

« Those with busy lives who are unable to care for their loved ones
« Family members who dislike nursing homes

Elderly Adult

« One who lives in nursing home but dislikes it

« Beginning Alzheimer’s patient

« Individual who needs assistance with bathroom responsibilities
« Those enrolled in ElderChoices (DHS) program

« Those enrolled in VA Medical Foster Care (VA) Program

Referral Sources in the Community

e Pastors aware of parishioners currently living alone and needing assistance

e Short term care units at nursing homes who need to place patients exiting short term care
but are unable to live alone

e Funeral home directors in smaller towns aware of elderly in their community who may no
longer be able to live at home

e Referral Services such as “A Place for Mom”
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Pricing

Below are the rates for care as presented by DHS as Of 2010. Suggested private pay can be
adjusted by the provider according to the needs, location, and cost of living of the AFH. Each
resident is classified by level of care needed = A, B, or C. Level C is the most common among
AFH in Arkansas. This individual will need little care as opposed to someone at Level B who

may be in a wheel chair or someone at Level A whose care is more involved.

NOTE: If you have an ElderChoices client and a Private Pay client, the Medicaid client can

never be charged more than the Private Pay client.

ElderChoice AFH Daily Rates and Revenues
Revenue per resident

Room and

Level Daily Rates Rate x30.5 Board Month Year

A $56.25 $1,715.63 $612.00* $2,327.63 $27,931.50
B $53.43 $1,629.62 $612.00%* $2,241.62 $26,899.38
C $48.22 $1,470.71 $612.00* $2,082.71 $24,992.52
Suggested Private pay

A $95.00 $2,897.50 $700.00 $3,597.50 $43,170.00
B $85.00 $2,592.50 $700.00 $3,292.50 $39,510.00
C $75.00 $2,287.50 $700.00 $2,987.50 $35,850.00

The AFH also plans to provide Adult Day Care if the opportunity arises. However the base
services will focus on the personal care provided to those who live in the home on a regular

basis.

Pricing listed here is based on rates provided by the Department of Human Services and
research based on nursing home prices in order to stay competitive. Room and board listed
for DHS clients is based on their income. *The figure in the table above is used only an

example.
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As you begin to market your AFH, you will need resource
Marketing Materials Y E Y Y

materials as reference for individuals after you have left their

presence. You will want to create a brochure or flyer, develop a simple website, and create a

Facebook (FB) page and a Craigslisting.

Your brochure or flyer should have pictures of your home in its best setting. The brochure or
flyer is a lasting impression. There should be mention of the services you provide such as “3
healthy meals”, “Companionship”, “Personal Care”, etc. You can use some of the wording
from the benefits and features section of the marketing plan. Carefully list your services so

they are appealing to potential clients and their families.

A basic website will prove to be beneficial to an AFH when individuals search the internet for
senior care services. This can be a one page site with your contact information and a picture of
your home. As with the brochure or flyer, you should list your services so when viewed it
makes a positive, lasting impression. A simple website can be developed by a professional, or

you can go to hosting sites such as GoDaddy.com to create your own.

Social media is important for all businesses. Facebook and Craigslist are two that can help you
gain clients in this industry. One in five people now have a Facebook page. You may have a
Facebook page yourself. If so, you should create one for your AFH separate from your
personal one. Craigslist can also be a great way to share information about your AFH. Many
people use Craigslist to search for services, and your services may be needed by someone who
is browsing Craigslist. You will need to create an account for each site and constantly update

your accounts.
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Action Plan

ADULT FAMILY HOME
MARKETING ACTION PLAN

Week One
Nursing Homes: contact at least 4 nursing homes
e Create a sales pitch
e Speak with employees in Rehab and the Social Work and Discharge department
e Create a Facebook (FB) page for yourself if you do not already have one
e Create a FB page for your AFH and ask friends from your personal page to "like" your
AFH page - you can make your brochure your Facebook wall
e Create a Craigslist account and an ad for it
e Post to your FB page (personal and business at least 3 times weekly) about your AFH
e Direct individuals to your Craigslist listing from your FB page

Week Two
Hospitals: contact all local hospitals in your area
e Create a sales pitch

e Speak with individuals in Rehab department and the Social Work and Discharge
department
e Make phone calls and visit with your brochure

Week Three
Funeral Homes: contact at least 4 funeral homes
e Create a sales pitch
e Give brochures to each funeral home you visit

Week Four
Senior Citizen Center: contact the local Senior Citizen Center

e With the center’s permission - leave brochures on bulletin board
Ads in local paper

e Choose a local paper and place one ad to run for one month

*As you implement this action plan, decide who will be responsible for actions before you
begin. This makes it easy to add activities as you develop other leads which are not listed here.
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RESOURCE DEVELOPMENT

Now that you have read through the steps of running the business side of the Adult Family
Home, you may have a whole host of questions. Professionals in certain fields are trained to
help the business owner figure out various aspects of running the business.

Certified Professional Accountant

A certified professional accountant (CPA) may be a great help when it comes to making
decisions about finances. He or she can help you map out the route of navigating tax laws and
provide the financial advice you may need to manage your business. Whether you are
contemplating the decision of incorporating your business or trying to decide if you should buy
or lease a company vehicle, a good business oriented accountant will be able to advise you
about how these issues will affect your taxes and/or your business' financial growth.

When you choose an accountant for your business, you will be establishing a long term
relationship, so feeling comfortable with him or her is important. After all, an accountant isn't
just a tax preparer; he or she can help you build a blueprint for the future of your business.

Attorney

An attorney can also advise you about the legal structure of your business. Usually, only tax
attorneys give you advice on the tax implications of how you choose to structure your business
legally. Your business lawyer can also make certain you are in compliance with any laws that
are applicable to your business. Without an attorney, you may not be aware that a particular
law affects your business, until someone complains that you are violating the law. As a business
owner, you need to comply with laws on everything from zoning to business filings to
employment practices.

Management Consultants

Consultants can also help small business owners improve their management systems in the
areas of financial management, marketing, planning, operations, human resource management,
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and technology. Should a business owner need more than this toolkit, Arkansas has many small

business consultants who can help guide business owners through the process of setting up the
business.

Choosing a Professional

Should you decide to seek out a CPA, attorney or consultant for advice, you may want to
consider the following:

Ask other business owners who they use for financial, legal and consulting services.

Use the phone book or the Internet to choose professionals if no one can give you

worthy recommendations.

Call four or five professionals in each field selected and ask to discuss their services.
Prepare a short list of questions you want to ask prospective accountants.

Ask the professional about experience with your industry and about fees.

Don’t hesitate to ask the hard questions to ensure that you feel comfortable with this
professional.
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APPENDIX

Form SS-4

W-4

-9

AR4EC

Cashflow Management Tool
Financial Model Template

The following can be applied to your business and are offered for example purposes. You, the AFH
provider, may modify the content as needed and to follow the guidelines of the Department of Human
Services’ Division of Aging and Adult Services

o Business Plan

o Intake Packet

o Policies and Procedures



Note: Form SS-4 begins on the next page of this document.

Attention
Limit of five (5) Employer Identification Number (EIN)
Assignments per Business Day
Due to a high volume of requests for EINs, the IRS will begin limiting the number
of EINs assigned per day to a responsible party identified on Form SS-4.
Effective April 11, 2011, a responsible party will be limited to five (5) EINs in one
business day. This limitis in effect whether you apply online, by phone, fax, or

mail.



forn 9S4 Application for Employer Identification Number OMB No. 1545-0003
(Rev. January 2010) (For use by employers, corporations, partnerships, trusts, estates, churches, EIN
government agencies, Indian tribal entities, certain individuals, and others.)
Department of the Treasury
Internal Revenue Service P> See separate instructions for each line. » Keep a copy for your records.
1 Legal name of entity (or individual) for whom the EIN is being requested
—2’ 2 Trade name of business (if different from name on line 1) 3 Executor, administrator, trustee, “care of” name
®
2
O |4a Mailing address (room, apt., suite no. and street, or P.O. box) |5a Street address (if different) (Do not enter a P.O. box.)
€
S |ab City, state, and ZIP code (if foreign, see instructions) 5b City, state, and ZIP code (if foreign, see instructions)
]
8_ 6  County and state where principal business is located
>
-
7a Name of responsible party 7b  SSN, ITIN, or EIN
8a s this application for a limited liability company (LLC) (or 8b If 8ais “Yes,” enter the number of
a foreign equivalent)? . . . . . . . . . [ Yes ] No LLC members L. | 2
8c  If 8ais “Yes,” was the LLC organized in the United States? . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . [Oyes [ No
9a Type of entity (check only one box). Caution. If 8a is “Yes,” see the instructions for the correct box to check.
] sole proprietor (SSN) : : [] Estate (SSN of decedent) : :
O Partnership [ Plan administrator (TIN)
O Corporation (enter form number to be filed) » ] Trust (TIN of grantor)
[ Personal service corporation [] National Guard [] state/local government
[ church or church-controlled organization ] Farmers’ cooperative (] Federal government/military
[] other nonprofit organization (specify) » ] Remic (] indian tribal governments/enterprises
[ ] Other (specify) » Group Exemption Number (GEN) if any »
9b  If a corporation, name the state or foreign country State Foreign country
(if applicable) where incorporated
10 Reason for applying (check only one box) | Banking purpose (specify purpose) »
[] started new business (specify type) » UJ Changed type of organization (specify new type) »
] Purchased going business
(] Hired employees (Check the box and see line 13.) [] Created a trust (specify type) »
J Compliance with IRS withholding regulations [] Created a pension plan (specify type) »
[] Other (specify) »
11 Date business started or acquired (month, day, year). See instructions. 12 Closing month of accounting year
14 If you expect your employment tax liability to be $1,000
13  Highest number of employees expected in the next 12 months (enter -0- if none). or less in a full calendar year and want to file Form 944
If no emplovees expected. skio line 14 annually instead of Forms 941 quarterly, check here.
ploy P » SKIP ’ (Your employment tax liability generally will be $1,000
. or less if you expect to pay $4,000 or less in total
Agricultural Household Other wages.) If you do not check this box, you must file
Form 941 for every quarter.
15  First date wages or annuities were paid (month, day, year). Note. If applicant is a withholding agent, enter date income will first be paid to
nonresident alien (month, day,year) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . »
16  Check one box that best describes the principal activity of your business. [] Health care & social assistance | Wholesale-agent/broker
[J construction [] Rental & leasing ] Transportation & warehousing [_] Accommodation & food service [] Wholesale-other  [] Retail
[] Real estate [] Manufacturing [] Finance & insurance [ other (specify)
17  Indicate principal line of merchandise sold, specific construction work done, products produced, or services provided.
18  Has the applicant entity shown on line 1 ever applied for and received an EIN? [ ] Yes [ ] No
If “Yes,” write previous EIN here »
Complete this section only if you want to authorize the named individual to receive the entity’s EIN and answer questions about the completion of this form.
Third Designee’s name Designee’s telephone number (include area code)
Party ( )
Designee Address and ZIP code Designee’s fax number (include area code)
( )

Under penalties of perjury, | declare that | have examined this application, and to the best of my knowledge and belief, it is true, correct, and complete. | Applicant’s telephone number (include area code)

Name and title (type or print clearly) » ( )

Applicant’s fax number (include area code)

Signature » Date P> ( )

For Privacy Act and Paperwork Reduction Act Notice, see separate instructions. Cat. No. 16055N Form SS-4 (Rev. 1-2010)



Form SS-4 (Rev. 1-2010)

Page 2

Do | Need an EIN?

File Form SS-4 if the applicant entity does not already have an EIN but is required to show an EIN on any return, statement,
or other document.” See also the separate instructions for each line on Form SS-4.

IF the applicant...

AND...

THEN...

Started a new business

Does not currently have (nor expect to have)
employees

Complete lines 1, 2, 4a-8a, 8b-c (if applicable), 9a,
9b (if applicable), and 10-14 and 16-18.

Hired (or will hire) employees,
including household employees

Does not already have an EIN

Complete lines 1, 2, 4a-6, 7a-b (if applicable), 8a,
8b—c (if applicable), 9a, 9b (if applicable), 10-18.

Opened a bank account

Needs an EIN for banking purposes only

Complete lines 1-5b, 7a-b (if applicable), 8a, 8b—c
(if applicable), 9a, 9b (if applicable), 10, and 18.

Changed type of organization

Either the legal character of the organization or its
ownership changed (for example, you incorporate a
sole proprietorship or form a partnership) 2

Complete lines 1-18 (as applicable).

Purchased a going business 3

Does not already have an EIN

Complete lines 1-18 (as applicable).

Created a trust

The trust is other than a grantor trust or an IRA
trust 4

Complete lines 1-18 (as applicable).

Created a pension plan as a
plan administrator ®

Needs an EIN for reporting purposes

Complete lines 1, 3, 4a-5b, 9a, 10, and 18.

Is a foreign person needing an
EIN to comply with IRS
withholding regulations

Needs an EIN to complete a Form W-8 (other than
Form W-8ECI), avoid withholding on portfolio assets,
or claim tax treaty benefits ©

Complete lines 1-5b, 7a-b (SSN or ITIN optional),
8a, 8b-c (if applicable), 9a, 9b (if applicable), 10,
and 18.

Is administering an estate

Needs an EIN to report estate income on Form 1041

Complete lines 1-6, 9a, 10-12, 13-17 (if applicable),
and 18.

Is a withholding agent for
taxes on non-wage income
paid to an alien (i.e.,
individual, corporation, or
partnership, etc.)

Is an agent, broker, fiduciary, manager, tenant, or
spouse who is required to file Form 1042, Annual

Withholding Tax Return for U.S. Source Income of
Foreign Persons

Complete lines 1, 2, 3 (if applicable), 4a-5b, 7a-b (if
applicable), 8a, 8b—c (if applicable), 9a, 9b (if
applicable), 10, and 18.

Is a state or local agency

Serves as a tax reporting agent for public assistance
recipients under Rev. Proc. 80-4, 1980-1 C.B. 5817

Complete lines 1, 2, 4a-5b, 9a, 10, and 18.

Is a single-member LLC

Needs an EIN to file Form 8832, Classification
Election, for filing employment tax returns and

excise tax returns, or for state reporting purposes 8

Complete lines 1-18 (as applicable).

Is an S corporation

Needs an EIN to file Form 2553, Election by a Small
Business Corporation °

Complete lines 1-18 (as applicable).

For example, a sole proprietorship or self-employed farmer who establishes a qualified retirement plan, or is required to file excise, employment, alcohol,

tobacco, or firearms returns, must have an EIN. A partnership, corporation, REMIC (real estate mortgage investment conduit), nonprofit organization
(church, club, etc.), or farmers’ cooperative must use an EIN for any tax-related purpose even if the entity does not have employees.

N

However, do not apply for a new EIN if the existing entity only (a) changed its business name, (b) elected on Form 8832 to change the way it is taxed (or is

covered by the default rules), or (c) terminated its partnership status because at least 50% of the total interests in partnership capital and profits were sold or
exchanged within a 12-month period. The EIN of the terminated partnership should continue to be used. See Regulations section 301.6109-1(d)(2)(iii).

ENE

© ® N o o

Do not use the EIN of the prior business unless you became the “owner” of a corporation by acquiring its stock.

However, grantor trusts that do not file using Optional Method 1 and IRA trusts that are required to file Form 990-T, Exempt Organization Business Income Tax
Return, must have an EIN. For more information on grantor trusts, see the Instructions for Form 1041.

A plan administrator is the person or group of persons specified as the administrator by the instrument under which the plan is operated.

Entities applying to be a Qualified Intermediary (Ql) need a QI-EIN even if they already have an EIN. See Rev. Proc. 2000-12.

See also Household employer on page 4 of the instructions. Note. State or local agencies may need an EIN for other reasons, for example, hired employees.
See Disregarded entities on page 4 of the instructions for details on completing Form SS-4 for an LLC.

An existing corporation that is electing or revoking S corporation status should use its previously-assigned EIN.




Form W-4 (2011)

Purpose. Complete Form W-4 so that your
employer can withhold the correct federal
income tax from your pay. Consider completing a
new Form W-4 each year and when your
personal or financial situation changes.

Exemption from withholding. If you are exempt,
complete only lines 1, 2, 3, 4, and 7 and sign
the form to validate it. Your exemption for 2011
expires February 16, 2012. See Pub. 505, Tax
Withholding and Estimated Tax.

Note. If another person can claim you as a
dependent on his or her tax return, you cannot
claim exemption from withholding if your income
exceeds $950 and includes more than $300 of
unearned income (for example, interest and
dividends).

Basic instructions. If you are not exempt,
complete the Personal Allowances Worksheet
below. The worksheets on page 2 further adjust
your withholding allowances based on itemized
deductions, certain credits, adjustments to
income, or two-earners/multiple jobs situations.

Complete all worksheets that apply. However,
you may claim fewer (or zero) allowances. For
regular wages, withholding must be based on
allowances you claimed and may not be a flat
amount or percentage of wages.

Head of household. Generally, you may claim
head of household filing status on your tax return
only if you are unmarried and pay more than
50% of the costs of keeping up a home for
yourself and your dependent(s) or other
qualifying individuals. See Pub. 501, Exemptions,
Standard Deduction, and Filing Information, for
information.

Tax credits. You can take projected tax credits
into account in figuring your allowable number of
withholding allowances. Credits for child or
dependent care expenses and the child tax
credit may be claimed using the Personal
Allowances Worksheet below. See Pub. 919,
How Do | Adjust My Tax Withholding, for
information on converting your other credits into
withholding allowances.

Nonwage income. If you have a large amount of
nonwage income, such as interest or dividends,
consider making estimated tax payments using

Form 1040-ES, Estimated Tax for Individuals.
Otherwise, you may owe additional tax. If you
have pension or annuity income, see Pub. 919 to
find out if you should adjust your withholding on
Form W-4 or W-4P.

Two earners or multiple jobs. If you have a
working spouse or more than one job, figure the
total number of allowances you are entitled to
claim on all jobs using worksheets from only one
Form W-4. Your withholding usually will be most
accurate when all allowances are claimed on the
Form W-4 for the highest paying job and zero
allowances are claimed on the others. See Pub.
919 for details.

Nonresident alien. If you are a nonresident alien,
see Notice 1392, Supplemental Form W-4
Instructions for Nonresident Aliens, before
completing this form.

Check your withholding. After your Form W-4
takes effect, use Pub. 919 to see how the
amount you are having withheld compares to
your projected total tax for 2011. See Pub. 919,
especially if your earnings exceed $130,000
(Single) or $180,000 (Married).

Personal Allowances Worksheet (Keep for your records.)

A Enter “1” for yourself if no one else can claim you as a dependent .
® You are single and have only one job; or

B Enter “1” if:

* You are married, have only one job, and your spouse does not work; or

* Your wages from a second job or your spouse’s wages (or the total of both) are $1,500 or less.

C Enter “1” for your spouse. But, you may choose to enter “-0-”

than one job. (Entering “-0-" may help you avoid having too little tax withheld.)

O

Enter number of dependents (other than your spouse or yourself) you will claim on your tax return . .
E Enter “1” if you will file as head of household on your tax return (see conditions under Head of household above)
F Enter “1” if you have at least $1,900 of child or dependent care expenses for which you plan to claim a credit

if you are married and have either a working spouse or more

Mmoo

(Note. Do not include child support payments. See Pub. 503, Child and Dependent Care Expenses, for details.)
G  Child Tax Credit (including additional child tax credit). See Pub. 972, Child Tax Credit, for more information.
e |f your total income will be less than $61,000 ($90,000 if married), enter “2” for each eligible child; then less “1” if you have three or more eligible children.
e |f your total income will be between $61,000 and $84,000 ($90,000 and $119,000 if married), enter “1” for each eligible
child plus “1” additional if you have six or more eligible children .

G

H  Add lines A through G and enter total here. (Note. This may be different from the number of exemptions you claim on your tax return.) » H

For accuracy,
complete all
worksheets
that apply.

e If you plan to itemize or claim adjustments to income and want to reduce your withholding, see the Deductions
and Adjustments Worksheet on page 2.

e |f you have more than one job or are married and you and your spouse both work and the combined earnings from all jobs exceed
$40,000 ($10,000 if married), see the Two-Earners/Multiple Jobs Worksheet on page 2 to avoid having too little tax withheld.

¢ If neither of the above situations applies, stop here and enter the number from line H on line 5 of Form W-4 below.

o W=4

Department of the Treasury
Internal Revenue Service

Cut here and give Form W-4 to your employer. Keep the top part for your records.

Employee's Withholding Allowance Certificate

P Whether you are entitled to claim a certain number of allowances or exemption from withholding is
subject to review by the IRS. Your employer may be required to send a copy of this form to the IRS.

OMB No. 1545-0074

2011

1 Type or print your first name and middle initial. Last name 2 Your social security number
Home address (number and street or rural route) 3 [] single [] Married [_] Married, but withhold at higher Single rate.
Note. If married, but legally separated, or spouse is a nonresident alien, check the “Single” box.
City or town, state, and ZIP code 4 If your last name differs from that shown on your social security card,
check here. You must call 1-800-772-1213 for a replacement card. » |:|
5  Total number of allowances you are claiming (from line H above or from the applicable worksheet on page 2) 5
6  Additional amount, if any, you want withheld from each paycheck 6 |$
7 | claim exemption from withholding for 2011, and | certify that | meet both of the foIIowmg condltlons for exemptlon

e Last year | had a right to a refund of all federal income tax withheld because | had no tax liability and
e This year | expect a refund of all federal income tax withheld because | expect to have no tax liability.

If you meet both conditions, write “Exempt” here .

> 7]

Under penalties of perjury, | declare that | have examined this certificate and to the best of my knowledge and belief, it is true, correct, and complete.

Employee’s signature
(This form is not valid unless you sign it.) »

Date »

8 Employer’s name and address (Employer: Complete lines 8 and 10 only if sending to the IRS.)

9 Office code (optional) | 10  Employer identification number (EIN)

For Privacy Act and Paperwork Reduction Act Notice, see page 2.

Cat. No. 10220Q

Form W-4 (2011)



Form W-4 (2011)

Page 2

Deductions and Adjustments Worksheet
Note. Use this worksheet only if you plan to itemize deductions or claim certain credits or adjustments to income.
1 Enter an estimate of your 2011 itemized deductions. These include qualifying home mortgage interest,
charitable contributions, state and local taxes, medical expenses in excess of 7.5% of your income, and
miscellaneous deductions . . .. 1 $
$11,600 if married filing jomtly or quallfylng Wldow(er)
2 Enter: $8,500 if head of household 2 %
$5,800 if single or married filing separately
3  Subtract line 2 from line 1. If zero or less, enter “-0-” 3 3
4  Enter an estimate of your 2011 adjustments to income and any addltlonal standard deductlon (see Pub 919) 4 3
5 Add lines 3 and 4 and enter the total. (Include any amount for credits from the Converting Credits to
Withholding Allowances for 2011 Form W-4 Worksheet in Pub. 919.) 5 $
6  Enter an estimate of your 2011 nonwage income (such as dividends or interest) 6 $
7  Subtract line 6 from line 5. If zero or less, enter “-0-" 7 3
8 Divide the amount on line 7 by $3,700 and enter the result here. Drop any fractlon 8
9  Enter the number from the Personal Allowances Worksheet, line H, page 1 9
10 Add lines 8 and 9 and enter the total here. If you plan to use the Two-Earners/Multiple Jobs Worksheet
also enter this total on line 1 below. Otherwise, stop here and enter this total on Form W-4, line 5, page 1 10
Two-Earners/Multiple Jobs Worksheet (See Two earners or multiple jobs on page 1.)
Note. Use this worksheet only if the instructions under line H on page 1 direct you here.
1 Enter the number from line H, page 1 (or from line 10 above if you used the Deductions and Adjustments Worksheet) 1
2  Find the number in Table 1 below that applies to the LOWEST paying job and enter it here. However, if
you are married filing jointly and wages from the highest paying job are $65,000 or less, do not enter more
than “3” 2
3 If line 1 is more than or equal to line 2, subtract line 2 from line 1. Enter the result here (if zero, enter
“-0-") and on Form W-4, line 5, page 1. Do not use the rest of this worksheet . 3
Note. If line 1 is less than line 2, enter “-0-” on Form W-4, line 5, page 1. Complete lines 4 through 9 below to flgure the additional
withholding amount necessary to avoid a year-end tax bill.
4  Enter the number from line 2 of this worksheet . . . . . . . . . . 4
5  Enter the number from line 1 of this worksheet . . . . . . . . . . 5
6  Subtract line 5 from line 4 . . 6
7  Find the amount in Table 2 below that applles to the HIGHEST paying |ob and enter it here 7 3
8  Multiply line 7 by line 6 and enter the result here. This is the additional annual withholding needed 8 $
9  Divide line 8 by the number of pay periods remaining in 2011. For example, divide by 26 if you are paid
every two weeks and you complete this form in December 2010. Enter the result here and on Form W-4,
line 6, page 1. This is the additional amount to be withheld from each paycheck 9 $
Table 1 Table 2
Married Filing Jointly All Others Married Filing Jointly All Others
If wages from LOWEST | Enter on If wages from LOWEST | Enter on If wages from HIGHEST | Enter on If wages from HIGHEST | Enter on
paying job are— line 2 above | paying job are— line 2 above | paying job are— line 7 above | paying job are— line 7 above
$0 - $5,000 - 0 $0 - $8,000 - 0 $0 - $65,000 $560 $0 - $35,000 $560
5,001 - 12,000 - 1 8,001 - 15,000 - 1 65,001 - 125,000 930 35,001 - 90,000 930
12,001 - 22,000 - 2 15,001 - 25,000 - 2 125,001 - 185,000 1,040 90,001 - 165,000 1,040
22,001 - 25,000 - 3 25,001 - 30,000 - 3 185,001 - 335,000 1,220 165,001 - 370,000 1,220
25,001 - 30,000 - 4 30,001 - 40,000 - 4 335,001 and over 1,300 370,001 and over 1,300
30,001 - 40,000 - 5 40,001 - 50,000 - 5
40,001 - 48,000 - 6 50,001 - 65,000 - 6
48,001 - 55,000 - 7 65,001 - 80,000 - 7
55,001 - 65,000 - 8 80,001 - 95,000 - 8
65,001 - 72,000 - 9 95,001 -120,000 - 9
72,001 - 85,000 - 10 120,001 and over 10
85,001 - 97,000 - 11
97,001 -110,000 - 12
110,001 -120,000 - 13
120,001 -135,000 - 14
135,001 and over 15

Privacy Act and Paperwork Reduction Act Notice. We ask for the information on this form to
carry out the Internal Revenue laws of the United States. Internal Revenue Code sections
3402(f)(2) and 6109 and their regulations require you to provide this information; your employer
uses it to determine your federal income tax withholding. Failure to provide a properly
completed form will result in your being treated as a single person who claims no withholding
allowances; providing fraudulent information may subject you to penalties. Routine uses of this
information include giving it to the Department of Justice for civil and criminal litigation, to
cities, states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. commonwealths and possessions for use in
administering their tax laws; and to the Department of Health and Human Services for use in
the National Directory of New Hires. We may also disclose this information to other countries
under a tax treaty, to federal and state agencies to enforce federal nontax criminal laws, or to
federal law enforcement and intelligence agencies to combat terrorism.

You are not required to provide the information requested on a form that is
subject to the Paperwork Reduction Act unless the form displays a valid OMB
control number. Books or records relating to a form or its instructions must be
retained as long as their contents may become material in the administration of
any Internal Revenue law. Generally, tax returns and return information are
confidential, as required by Code section 6103.

The average time and expenses required to complete and file this form will vary
depending on individual circumstances. For estimated averages, see the
instructions for your income tax return.

If you have suggestions for making this form simpler, we would be happy to hear
from you. See the instructions for your income tax return.



Accounts Payable

Projection

Vendor/Cust.

Actual

Projection

Week/Month Ending

1/7

1/7

1/7

5/13

Vendor/Cust. ACTUAL |

5/13

5/13

Beginning Balance
Avail Line of Credit

Total Available Cash

Payroll Expense
Owner's Payroll
Employee Payroll
Payroll Taxes

Operating Expenses

Accounting Fee

Advertising

Auto Insurance

Auto Repairs and Maintenance
Groceries/ toiletries (% of total household
Activity supplies

Dues and Subscriptions

Franchise Fee

Postage

Professional Fees

Taxes

House Repairs = full house sq ft *dedicat
Telephone (land line)

Water utilities = full house sq ft *dedicate
Electricity = full house sq ft *dedicated sp;

Vendors

$0.00
$0.00

$0.00

$0.00
$0.00
$0.00
$0.00

Total Due

RECEIVABLES
Medicaid

Adult Daycare

Private Paying customer

Available Cash=

Sub-Total Receipts=

Sub-Total Payables=

NET CASH BALANCE

Profit

Monthly Profit




Square Footage dedicated to client(s)
Total sq ft of home
Portion of home dedicated to business

Monthly Mortgagte or rent
Monthly Electric Bill
Monthly water/sewer
Monthly Gas

Monthly Property Insurance
Monthly Trash

Yearly Property Taxes

Adult Famly Home
Input

9%

OUTPUT
78.75
17.5
2.1875
8.75

5.25
2.625

87.5



Business Plan
for Establishing

Adult Family Homes in Arkansas

<INSERT DATE HERE>
By <INSERT OWNER NAME HERE>



ADULT FAMILY HOME

Executive Summary

Did you know that in Arkansas there is now an alternative to corporately managed assisted
living and nursing homes? It is called an Adult Family Home (AFH). It enables a couple or individual to
provide care services to three or fewer elderly clients who require help with daily activities but are
generally not bedridden. The providers of the home, along with residents, enjoy the greatest personal
freedom and independence in both concept and operation of their shared household. Everyone may
exercise their full level of independence more than elsewhere. Studies show that occupants of smaller
assisted living facilities tend to be happier than residents of nursing home facilities. In addition to
providing one caregiver for every two to three residents, an AFH is often less than half of the cost of
larger assisted living facilities and almost one third the cost of most nursing homes.

An AFH provides a family home setting for adult who are unable to live alone due to physical,
emotional or developmental impairments. The home provides 24 hour care for functionally impaired
residents. Residents receive meals, support, supervision, and assistance with personal care and living
skills as needed. AFH’s can meet the need of adults who require periodic or regular assistance with
activities of daily living but do not require nursing services. Examples of “activities of daily living”

include: dressing, bathing, eating, brushing teeth or combing hair.

The Venture and Strategy

The mission of an AFH is to provide care in a home environment to those elderly, who for
physical, cognitive and/or medical reasons, require a level of assistance that prevents them from living

alone or creates a challenge too large for family members to manage on a day to day basis.
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The AFH will be compensated based on the care it offers and the room & board provided to its
residents. A home may or may not have more than one employee. However, a certified individual is in
the home with clients on a 24 hour a day, 7 days a week basis.

The hiring of an employee is based upon the number of residents in place. In Arkansas, the
home will have three or fewer residents.

These homes generally accept private pay clients, defined as those who pay for both the care
services and room & board with their own funds. They also may accept clients who are enrolled in
Arkansas Department of Human Services’ ElderChoices Program. ElderChoices is an Arkansas
Medicaid home care and community-based waiver program designed for the elderly. Under
ElderChoices, Medicaid is responsible for the cost of the care services in the home. Individuals pay for
room and board based on their income. An AFH serves those who currently live in a home
atmosphere with family members who need help with their aging loved ones. Individuals who live in
the home are typically not a danger to themselves or others in the home. However, they are generally
unable to live independently, requiring minimal supervision and/or assistance in completing one or
more of the following tasks: dressing, personal hygiene, transportation, ambulation, nutrition, health
supervision. They can take action for self-preservation in case of fire or storm with direction and
usually have control of bowel and bladder, but may have stress incontinence and/or not be capable of
meeting their own needs when incontinent.

Family members who live busy lives but want their loved ones to be cared for in a home setting
may find this type of home an appropriate placement. The home like atmosphere gives them peace of
mind and has a family feeling that they would like to provide if it were not for their demanding

schedules.
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Currently, the market in Arkansas is a wide open field for AFH’s. This type of business is new
in Arkansas but has been thoroughly tested in markets like VWashington state. Now is the time to
enter this market. Many people are looking for alternative living solutions for their loved ones. Some
choose a nursing home and some choose to keep them in their own homes. Neither of these are easy
choices and sometimes extremely costly or inconvenient. The opportunities for AFHs are endless in
Arkansas since it is so new and yet so needed.

A provider is usually the home owner or the person who is responsible for care of the home
and residents. This individual is usually the owner the AFH and thus the operator/business owner.
Some home have employees, but this is an individual decision and is often based on the number of
residents who occupy the home. According to the Arkansas Department of Human Services’

guidelines, a home has three or fewer residents.

The Strategy

The AFH seeks to be at full capacity by the end of year one (three clients). The financial model
demonstrates that an AFH requires two clients in order to enable it to pay the owner a small, regular
salary. Three clients are needed in order to produce a profit and pay a more sustainable salary to the
owner and employee(s). In year two, the AFH plans to expand the home to accommodate three
clients and possibly further enhance the atmosphere. In year three, Adult Daycare services may be
added to increase income. In the state of Arkansas, certification as an Adult Daycare is not required
until it serves more than three clients. Respite Care is also an additional service which the AFH can
provide. Respite Care is provided to individuals who qualify under the Arkansas Department of
Human Services respite care program. Respite care provides care to individuals in situation in which

their loved ones or another AFH provider needs a break. Respite care can be provided so long as the
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home has not met its capacity. Respite care providers must be certified by DHS and must have at least

one room available for respite related clients.

Company Structure

The AFH is legally structured as a Limited Liability Company (LLC). The LLC structure
protects the owner’s personal assets by limiting the liability to its members while offering the same
IRS tax treatment as partnerships Given the risk of potential lawsuits in this industry, the LLC provides
the safer option.

The AFH has available support from the Arkansas Department of Human Services’ Division of
Aging and Adult Services. The DHS ElderChoices program certifies AFHs who take referrals from the
ElderChoices program. Once an AFH has become enrolled with DHS, ElderChoices nurses and staff
are able to refer clients. An AFH has the same support through the VA Medical Foster Care Program
with the Veteran’s Administration. Each entity has its own set of rules regulating how an AFH is to
conduct business.

An AFH in Arkansas has no official professional organization at this time. Other states have
formed theses entities to provide another form of support in the case that not all AFH will be enrolled
in the DHS or VA programs. Peer to peer engagement within the industry will only strengthen this
business sector.

Services
An Adult Family Home provides:

Room and board

At least three meals a day with snacks
Reminders to take medicine
Assistance with personal care
Companionship

Assistance with activities of daily living

©2003 alt.Consulting 5



e Expendable items used by the clients in small quantities such as facial and toilet tissue
Personal items such as towels and soap

Laundry services

Non-medical transportation

Socialization.

Some AFHs provide medical transportation based on the needs of the client and the needs of family
members.

Some AFH provide cable TV as well as subscriptions to magazines and newspapers. Most owners
want to make their residents feels at home, because the AFH could possibly be their last home. Some
AFHs may provide personal hygiene services such haircuts, manicures, pedicures, and other grooming
services. These services are at an extra charge to the client and are not included in the regular care
service offering.

Payment for care services come from Arkansas Medicaid on a reimbursement basis for individuals
enrolled in the ElderChoices program of the Arkansas Department of Human Services’ Division of
Aging and Adult Services. Payment for room and board is based on a person’s income and may be
supplemented by family’s funds. Private pay clients are responsible for room and board as well as care
services.

Future services include adult daycare services provided to those who are not already in the home.
Four to eight hours a day per client will generate additional income. This services will charged by the

hour at a price negotiated by the client and the AFH owner.

Marketing Plan

Owners of an AFH have more incentive to ensure its success than hired managers or
employees of larger facilities. This translates into meaningful advantages for the AFH’s residents and

their respective families. Here, for example, are just a few: Proprietors of a close-knit Family
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Home are only as “well-off” as their residents’ “well-being” — they must be active advocates for each

and every household member. With the owner directly in charge of the care, there is a lower
turnover rate than among poorly paid employees of larger institutions. Additionally, the caregivers’
vital interest for what occurs within their own private walls is an important shield against those who

might exploit a senior financially, emotionally, or physically through scams or other forms of abuse.

Features

« Beds

o Private rooms of up to 140 sq ft

« Access to phone

« Family atmosphere

« Cold A/C in summer and warm heat in winter
« Transportation to medical facilities as needed
« Clean environment

o Wheel chair accessible

o Meals prepared

« Private closet space

« Provider is certified by DHS

Benefits
« Personal care —
o Help with incontinence
o Assistance with dressing
o Aid in moving about the premises/home
o Medication reminders
o Laundry services provided
o Toiletries
o Linens
« Socializing with others in addition to family members
« Safe environment
« CableTV
« Outings
« Birthday parties and holidays celebrations
« Mild exercise program
« 3 Healthy meals a day plus snack included in price
o 24/7 companionship
« Easy visitation schedules for family members
« Gardening in the spring

Note: The maximum home capacity is three for DHS and VA client based homes.
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Please note: AFH providers may want to utilize the benefits listed above in marketing literature. The
family choosing an AFH over a nursing facility for their loved one is doing so based on the benefits and

not the features which may or may not be comparable with a nursing facility.

Target Markets

Family members and Caretakers

 Individuals ages 30-50 with elderly parents

« Those with busy lives who are unable to care for their loved ones
« Family members who dislike nursing homes

Elderly Adult

« One who lives in nursing home but dislikes it

« Beginning Alzheimer’s patient

 Individual who needs assistance with bathroom responsibilities
« Those enrolled in ElderChoices (DHS) program

« Those enrolled in VA Medical Foster Care (VA) Program

Referral Sources in the Community

e Pastors aware of parishioners currently living alone and needing assistance

e Short term care units at nursing homes who need to place patients exiting short term care but
unable to live alone

e Funeral home directors in smaller towns aware of elderly in their community who may no longer
be able to live at home
e Referral Services such as “A Place for Mom”

Pricing
Below are the rates for care as presented by DHS as Of 2010. Suggested private pay can be adjusted

by the provider according to the needs, location, and cost of living of the AFH. Each resident is
classified by level of care needed = A, B, or C. Level C is the most common among AFH in Arkansas.
This individual will need little care as opposed to a someone at Level B who may be in a wheel chair or

someone at Level A whose care is more involved.

NOTE: If you have an ElderChoices client and a Private Pay client in the home at the same time, the

Medicaid client can never be charged more than the Private Pay client.
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ElderChoices AFH Daily Rates and

Revenues

Revenue per resident

Room and

Level Daily Rates Rate x30.5 Board Month Year
A $56.25 $1,715.63 $612.00* $2,327.63 $27,931.50
B $53.43 $1,629.62 $612.00%* $2,241.62 $26,899.38
C $48.22 $1,470.71 $612.00* $2,082.71 $24,992.52
Suggested Private pay
A $95.00 $2,897.50 $700.00 $3,597.50 $43,170.00
B $85.00 $2,592.50 $700.00 $3,292.50 $39,510.00
C $75.00 $2,287.50 $700.00 $2,987.50 $35,850.00

The AFH also plans to provide Adult Day Care if the opportunity arises. However, the base services

will focus on the personal care provided to those who live in the home on a regular basis.

Pricing listed here is based on rates provided by the Department of Human Services and research
based on nursing home prices in order to stay competitive. Room and board listed for DHS clients is

based on their income. *The figure in the table above is only an example.

Marketing Materials
As you begin to market your AFH, you will need resource materials as reference for individuals after
you have left their presence. You will want to create a brochure or flyer, develop a simple website,

and create a Facebook (FB) page and a Craigslist listing.

Your brochure or flyer should have pictures of your home in its best setting. The brochure or flyer is
a lasting impression. There should be mention of the services you provide such as “3 healthy meals”,
“Companionship”, “Personal Care”, etc. You can use some of the wording from the benefits and
features section of the marketing plan. Carefully list your services so that they are appealing to

potential clients and families.
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A basic website will prove to be beneficial to an AFH when individuals search the internet for senior
care services. This can be a one page site with your contact information and a picture of your home.
Just like the brochure or flyer, you should list your services so when viewed it makes a positive, lasting
impression. A simple website can be developed by a professional or you can go to hosting sites such

as GoDaddy.com to create your own.

Social media is important for all businesses. Facebook and Craigslist are two that can help you gain
clients in this industry. One in five people now have a Facebook page. You may have a Facebook page,
yourself. You should create one for your AFH separate from your personal one. Craigslist can also be
a great way to get the word out about your AFH. Many people use Craigslist to search for services
and your services may be needed by someone who is browsing Craigslist. You will need to create an

account for each site and constantly update your accounts.

ADULT FAMILY HOME
MARKETING ACTION PLAN

Week One
Nursing Homes: contact at least 4 nursing homes
e Create a sales pitch
e Speak with individuals in Rehab department and the Social Work and Discharge department
e Create a Facebook (FB) page for yourself if you do not already have one
e Create a Facebook page for your AFH and ask your friends from your personal page to "like"
your AFH page - you can make your brochure your Facebook wall
Post to your FB page (personal and business at least 3 times weekly) about your AFH
e Direct individuals to your Craigslist listing from your FB page

Week Two

Hospitals: contact all local hospitals in your area
e Create a sales pitch
e Speak with individuals in Rehab department and the Social Work and Discharge department
e Make phone calls and visit with your brochure

Week Three
Funeral Homes: contact at least 4 funeral homes
e Create a sales pitch
¢ Give brochures to each funeral home you visit
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Week Four
Senior Citizen Center: contact the local Senior Citizen Center

e With the center’s permission, - leave brochures on bulletin board
Ads in local paper

e Choose a local paper and place one ad to run for one month
*As you implement this action plan, decide who is responsible actions before you begin. This makes it

easy to add activities as you develop leads which are not listed here.

Industry and Competitive Analysis

Adult Family Homes are a new option in the industry committed to caring for the elderly. In some
states, AFH’s are extremely prevalent and have become a booming industry. Arkansas has just begun
to work with this care option, thus making this the prime time for entrepreneurs to gain an advantage
by being the first among residents’ options.

Although there are currently on a few AFH’s in Arkansas they face competition from:
e Nursing homes

e Assisted living programs

e Home health care

All of these are competitive factors for an AFH. The nursing home is the biggest competitor,
because nursing homes are the most common and easy to locate. Their institutionalized process
makes it easy to place a family member or friend. Nursing homes provide 24 hour care just as an AFH
does.

Based on interviews conducted by alt.Consulting with five of the largest nursing homes in
Central Arkansas, nursing homes compared to AFHs as follows:
e Medicines: Nursing homes administer medicines directly to clients while AFH provider can

only remind clients to take their medicines.
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e Privacy: Nursing homes interviewed have very few private rooms available. Private rooms
run $285 per day for room, board, and care. Since ElderChoices requires 70 sq feet of
living space per client, an AFH usually provides a private room.

e Staff Client Ratio: Nursing homes reported a staff-client ratio of 1:16. An AFH provides a
ratio of | staff member to 3 clients.

e Cost: The least expensive nursing home interviewed costs $4,575 per month for a semi-
private room, board, and care. The average rate charged by Arkansas based AFHs for a

private room is $2,082.71 per month for room, board, and care.

Competition may also come from Assisted Living Programs and home health care agencies which
provide assistance to the elderly seeking to live in their own home. Assisted Living Facilities are
often connected to nursing facilities and provides a spectrum of care as the client requires
additional services. Home health care provides both personal and health care to individuals living in
their own home.

Indirect competition comes from options that care for the elderly during the day and provide
opportunities to socialize such as:

e Senior Citizen Centers
e Adult Day Care
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Management

<INSERT BIO of OWNER AND BACKGROUND INFORMATION HERE>
Each AFH is different in how it is managed. Below is a chart provided for reference of who is

needed to help with operations.

Provider

Part-time employee
(usually: family member)

Part-time employee
(back up)

Administration

Provide care to residents

Provide care to residents

Marketing/PR/ Sales

Household chores (wash
clothes, clan dishes, etc.)

Household chores (wash
clothes, clan dishes, etc.)

Company relations (Chamber
meetings, etc.)

Certified AFH provider, RN,
CNA, LPN, or medical
background

Certified AFH provider, RN,
CNA, LPN, or medical
background

Client file management

Financial Management

Manage relationships with client
family members

Website management, social
media

Provide care to residents

Household chores (wash
clothes, clan dishes, etc.)

Certified AFH provider

Operations

An AFH must be owner operated. The home may or may not be owned by the AFH provider but

the AFH provider is responsible for the home in which the business resides. All requirements of

Arkansas Department of Human Services are met whether the AFH owner is the owner of the home

or not. This is considered a home-based business in the state of Arkansas.

Processes and documentation have been put in place to operate the home in an orderly fashion.

These processes assist the AFH owner and the client as well as the client’s family if they are involved

with the client. Each owner must be certified through the Arkansas Department of Humans Services.

Certification lasts for 12 months and must be renewed annually.
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The maximum capacity of a home is three clients. A part time employee may be added once an
AFH reaches the client count of two. Because regulations require a certified caregiver to be onsite
with residents at all times, a part-time employee may be needed as the number of clients increase or to
permit the owner to take care of issues outside of the home. These employees, according to the
Arkansas Department of Humans Services guidelines, must be certified or be a licensed RN, LPN or
CNA. The employee is paid at $8 -$10 an hour for the hours they are needed. The owner is paid at
$10 an hour once the business breaks even with 2 clients served.

There are two financial management tools to help an AFH efficiently monitor finances. A cashflow
management system has been put in place for AFH owners. This is a simple Excel spreadsheet in
which the owner keeps up with cashflow on a weekly basis (see cashflow management tool in
attachments). QuickBooks is a software program used to track all finances. It can be obtained and
implemented at any time; however, it is highly recommended once a home serves two or more clients.
This software helps to track services performed as well as daily, weekly and monthly cashflow.

Access to high speed internet is necessary for operations when client services are paid by Arkansas
Department of Human Service’s ElderChoices program. The AFH owner will bill Medicaid online for
these clients. Each AFH owner is provided with a Medicaid billing number and an area representative

who assists with billing when needed.

Financials

< Attached please find a detailed financial model that is easily customizable to each AFH>
The attached financial model is based on the following assumptions:

Income Statement
Sales
= Based on conversation with DHS Program Administrator, it is assumed that the home will most

frequently serve Level C clients
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o The first caregiver is assumed to bring in one level C Medicaid client at $48.22 daily rate
(See Rates and Revenues)
o Room board is $612 for this Medicaid client with a month of room board deposit to be
paid upon obtaining residency (See Rates and Revenues)
= The caregiver can add Adult Daycare to the home, in addition to AFH services
o Capacity is 3 clients for daily care (unless certified by the state to accept more),

= See the Rates and Revenues spreadsheet to better understand the levels

Cost of Goods Sold

= Food costs are based on USDA’s suggested cost per person in a home based on the number of
people in the home

* Resident Entertainment — birthdays, holiday celebrations and outings are estimated at $25 a
resident per month, none are estimated for daycare clients. This is will be an added expense to
those clients who would like to participate in the entertainment.

= Personal supplies - estimated at $5 monthly for soap, washing detergent, etc. because the
caregiver will purchase these items for their personal household as well

» Activities: Materials — materials for crafting, gardening, painting, etc. are assumed at $5 a

resident each month

Operating Expenses
» Salaries
o The owner is assumed to take a salary at $7.25/hr for 40 hours. The owner will take a
salary in month 1 but may not take a salary until month 3 to be conservative and build a
reserve during the first 2 months.
o One part time employee is assumed to work 3 hours a week at $8/hr and begin work in
month 2.
= Dues and subscription are listed in case the owner decides to provide newspapers, magazines,
etc. to the residents. The owner may also decide to join an organization designated for Adult
Family Homes.
= Paid advertising will be needed at some point but the caregiver should use the inexpensive
marketing plan first.
* |nsurance

o Insurance on this type of business may cost a caregiver from $1,000 to $3,000
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o This model supports an insurance quote from Meadors, Adams and Lee (commercial
insurance company located in downtown Little Rock) for $1,036 for ten months

Home maintenance has been estimated at $100 a month because this business is located in the
home of the caregiver
Postage is estimated at $5 monthly and office supplies have been estimated a $20 monthly for
minimum office work in this type of business
Telephone, automobile expenses and cable TV are included as a business expense because
the business is located in the home of the caregiver
All utilities are a percentage of the business based on the square footage used in the house by

the business

Balance Sheet

Current Assets

The only current asset in an AFH is the business bank account.
The caregiver plans to receive all client payments at the beginning of the month, all payments
will be paid in advance (room and board & daily rates for the month). There are no accounts

receivable associated with an AFH.

Fixed Assets

There are usually no fixed assets associated with an AFH since the property and furnishings are
usually the personal property of the provider. However, the owner may want the business to pay
for one or both of the following fixed assets:

Vehicle: It is recommended that the business assume the asset, as well as any debt and
expenses associated with it if the owner has a second vehicle for private use or carefully tracks
and reimburses the business for private miles driven

“Hospital Bed” or equipment purchases specifically for a client which remain in the home

Current Liabilities

Business owners using good financial systems are encouraged to utilize credit when available

to help manage cash flow at times when there are lapses between clients

Long Term Liabilities

Equity

There are currently no loans for the caregiver

©2003 alt.Consulting 16



Exhibits <Insert the following as needed>

©)

0 O O O O O

Financial statements for past 3 years
Resumes

Industry research

Photos (as needed)

Support Letters (as needed)

Future Contract agreements (as needed)
Marketing Materials (as needed)
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Adult Family Home
Resident Information Form

Resident’s Name:

Resident’s Last Mailing Address:

Date of Resident’s Admission to AFH:

Resident’s Date of Birth:

Name of Resident’s Legal Guardian (if applicable):

Relationship to the Resident:

Address of Resident’s Legal Guardian:

Telephone Number of Resident’s Legal Guardian:

Name of Resident’s Next of Kin or Emergency Contact:

Relationship to the Resident:

Address of Resident’s Next of Kin or Emergency Contact:

Telephone Number of Resident’s Next of Kin or Emergency Contact:

List contact information for other family members, emergency contacts or any other
responsible party. Include name, relationship to resident, address and telephone
number.




Resident’s Medicaid Number:

Resident’s Medicare Number:

Resident’s Social Security Number:

Resident’s Supplemental Medical Insurance Number:

Resident’s VA Number (if applicable):

List the names and telephone numbers of each of the resident’s physicians:

Other Information:




RESIDENT SCREENING FORM

Inquiry Name Relationship to Applicant
Inquiry Address Home Phone

City State Zip Work Phone

Applicant’s Name Age Sex

Applicant’s Current Living Situation

Reason for Move

How heard about us

SUMMARY OF CURRENT NEEDS / PREFERENCES

Housekeeping Transportation
Meal Preparation Special Diet
Medications Nursing Care
Dressing Bathing
Grooming Toileting/Incont.
Ambulation Transferring
Confusion Wandering
Hearing Vision

Speech Social / Emotional
Smoking habits Pet

Other Information (medical condition(s), who is currently providing assistance, etc.)




HOUSE RULES

(This is a sample format that may be used by adult family home providers to define the
rules and restrictions by which residents are expected to abide. You may use a different
format if you choose.)

The following House Rules apply to all residents of our Adult Family Home. Please
specify your preferences in the areas below as an AFH provider. Include any other
areas for which you have specific rules.

—

. Visiting Hours:

2. Meal Times:

3. Bedtimes & Curfews:

4. Resident Telephone Use:

5. Television Use:

6. Use of Intercoms:

7. Kitchen Use & Privileges:

8. Bathing:

9. Smoking:

10. Alcohol Use:

11. Pets:

12. Gambling:

13. Firearms:

14. Acceptable & Unacceptable Noise Levels:

15. Emergency Drills (i.e., procedures for fire, severe weather and other life-threatening
conditions):

16. Privacy & Courtesy:

17. Personal Hygiene:



18. Other:

Resident / Legal Representative Date



Adult Family Homes

Occupancy Agreement
The AFH provider must complete this form to outline the rights and responsibilities of
the client and provider concerning the adult family home. The client (and/or responsible
party) and the provider must sign this agreement. The client must receive a copy of the
agreement and the original must be placed in the client’s record.

At a minimum, the agreement must be reviewed every 12 months and updated as
necessary to reflect any change in the services provided and/or financial
requirements.

Name of AFH Client:

Name of AFH Client’s Legal Guardian (if applicable):

Name of AFH Provider:

Describe the method for which all resident information will be maintained in a
confidential manner as required under state and federal law and DAAS instruction.

List and describe resident accommodations and services covered in the AFH, and any
optional services provided.

Describe all fees, charges and rates for services, including optional services.




Explain whether third-party payments and resources are accepted by the provider. And,
explain the impact of the fee structure on third-party payments.

Describe billing and payment policies and procedures.

Describe the procedure for nonpayment of fees.

Identify the party responsible for payment. And, identify the client’s legal representative,
if any.

Describe the term of this occupancy agreement.

Describe policies and procedures for addressing grievances between the resident and
the AFH provider, family and staff.




Describe the adult family home’s emergency response policy.

Describe the occupancy, involuntary transfer and transfer criteria and procedures that
ensure a safe transfer from the AFH, as well as the process for internal appeal for
involuntary transfer.

The AFH provider and client also agree to the following:
The AFH provider must notify the resident or the legal representative in writing at least
30 days prior to any change in the occupancy agreement, with the following exceptions

o When the resident’s health status or behavior constitutes a substantial threat to
the health or safety of the resident, other residents, family or others

o When an emergency or a significant change in the resident’s condition results in
the need for the provision of services that exceed the type or level of services
included in the occupancy agreement and the necessary services must not be
safely provided by the AFH provider

o If the AFH provider or client wishes to file a complaint, he or she should contact
the DAAS RN or DAAS at (501) 682-2441. If any type of abuse of the client is
suspected, call the Adult Protective Services Adult Abuse Hotline (1-800-482-
8049).

Signature of AFH Client Date

Signature of Client’s Legal Guardian (if applicable) Date



RESIDENT ACTIVITIES AND INTERESTS

Resident Name: Date:

We want to know about your interest in certain types of social activities and
hobbies, so that events can be planned that you will enjoy. Please answer
all of the questions as if you had no physical or resource limitations,
indicating only whether you would LIKE to do the particular activity or area
of interest — not whether you think you could.

Please circle your answer to each question.

1. Do you like spending time with groups of people? YES NO SOMETIMES

If yes, doyou prefer: ... Small Groups or Large Groups
2. Do you like spending time by yourself? ............. YES NO SOMETIMES
3. Do you like being a member of clubs, committees and other
OrganizatioNS?.........eeviiiiiiiiiiiiie e YES NO SOMETIMES
4. Do you like meeting new people? ..................... YES NO SOMETIMES
5. Do you like to entertain? ...l YES NO SOMETIMES
6. Do you like to plan and/or attend parties? ........... YES NO SOMETIMES
7. Would you enjoy spending time with pets?

1D o o YES NO MAYBE
Al e YES NO MAYBE
Other (Please List)i......coeoiiiiiii i . YES NO MAYBE
8. Are you allergic to any animals?.............ccccevvviicceenennn. YES NO

If yes, which ones?

9. Do you have an interest in, or think you might have an interest in, any of the
following activities?

WalKing......oei YES NO MAYBE
Calisthenics/Stretching...............coiiiiiinnn. YES NO MAYBE
Yoga/Tai Chi.......ooeviiiiiiiii YES NO MAYBE

Others (Please List):




10. Do you enjoy watching sporting events or
entertainment shows on TV 2. YES NO SOMETIMES
What types of events or shows? (Please specify):

11. What types of movies do you enjoy watching, if any?

12. Do you enjoy any of the following religious/spiritual activities?

Attending religious services....................... YES NO MAYBE

Listening to radio services

or audiotapes of SErviCes..........ccooeiiiiiiiiiiiiii e YES NO MAYBE
Watching serviceson TV . et YES NO MAYBE
Participating in prayer or study groups .............................. YES NO MAYBE
Attending meditation groups............ooooiiiiiiiiiii YES NO MAYBE

If you answered “yes” to any of the above, what is your denomination?

Does your faith require food restrictions ............................ YES NO
If yes, please list the kinds of restrictions:

Would you enjoy visits from clergy ...............cooooeiiiini YES NO MAYBE
If yes, from which religious affiliation would you prefer visits?

Would you like to receive Holy Communion on a regular basis?

....................................................................... YES NO

Do you enjoy any other religious or spiritual activities? ..................... YES NO MAYBE
Describe:

13. Do you play a musical instrument? .................. YES NO

What instrument(s)?

14. Do you like t0 SINg? ....eevviiiiiiiiiiiieee, YES NO MAYBE



What types of music?

15. Do you enjoy reading?.........cooooviiiiiiiiiiiiiieeeeeeeeeen YES NO MAYBE
Do you like listening to books on tape?................... YES NO MAYBE
Do you like having someone read to you?............... YES NO MAYBE

If yes, what types of books?

16. Do you have an interest in, or think you would have an interest in, any of the
following activities?

SEWING. ..t YES NO MAYBE
Painting.......ccoooii YES NO MAYBE
Embroidery/ Needlepoint .......................o.l. YES NO MAYBE
QUIItING. .o YES NO MAYBE
Crocheting/ Knitting ..., YES NO MAYBE
Arts/Games:

Painting.......cooei i YES NO MAYBE
Drawing/Sketching.............ccooiiiiiiiiiiiin, YES NO MAYBE
Ceramics/Pottery..........coooiiiiiiiiiiiiin YES NO MAYBE
Board Games..........ccoiiiiiiiii YES NO MAYBE
BiNgO. .. YES NO MAYBE
Other Activities:

Gardening ......c.ooiiii YES NO MAYBE
Cooking/BaKing.........cocooeiiiiiiiiiiiiiieie YES NO MAYBE
Doing Puzzles..........ccoooiiiiiiiii YES NO MAYBE

Please list any other activities you have an interest in:

17. Do you have friends you would like to keep in touch with who may not be able to
visit you at the residence? ... YES NO MAYBE

18. Are there any family activities or traditions that are important to you that you would
like to continue while living at the residence?

YES NO MAYBE

Please specify:




19. Do you have other interests not included on this form?
...................................................... YES NO MAYBE

Please specify:




RESIDENT BILL OF RIGHTS

Each resident must be assured of the following rights:

1.

2.

9.

To temporarily leave and return to the AFH

To receive visitors at times mutually agreeable to the resident and AFH provider

. To have access to a telephone in the home to make local calls in privacy and without

charge and to make long distance calls as specified in the occupancy agreement

. To participate in the family environment and not be confined to a specific area of the

home

. To write and send uncensored mail and to receive unopened mail on the date of

delivery

. To participate in religious, cultural and community activities according to the

resident’s wishes and abilities

. To enjoy privacy of self and possessions

. To know that his/her wishes will be honored in regard to contacting designated

physician(s) and other source(s) of medical care, relatives, designated friends and/or
spiritual counselors in the event of an acute illness, nursing facility admission or
hospitalization

To have all personal information maintained and treated in a confidential manner

10. To live in an environment where he/she will be treated as an adult, with respect and

dignity, regardless of race, color, sex, creed or mental or physical disability

11. To be fully informed, prior to or at the time of admission and as need arises during

participation in the program, of services available in the AFH, including charges for
services

12. To be transferred or discharged only for:

o medical reasons

his/her welfare or the welfare of other residents

no longer needing the services provided by the AFH
AFH no longer included on the ElderChoices plan of care
AFH ceasing operation

o O O O

13. To be given reasonable written notice to ensure orderly transfer or discharge:

o The term “transfer” applies to the movement of a resident from one AFH to
another home or institution (e.g., nursing home, hospital, etc.)



o “Medical reasons” for transfer or discharge must be based on the resident’s
needs and are determined and documented by a physician.

o Documentation for “medical reasons” by a physician must become a part of the
resident’s permanent medical record.

o “Reasonable notice of transfer or discharge” means the decision to transfer or
discharge a resident must be discussed with the resident and/or legal guardian.
The resident/legal guardian must be told the reason(s) and alternatives available.

o In the case of non-emergency involuntary discharge, a minimum of 30 days
written notice must be given.

o A copy of the written notice must become a part of the resident’s permanent
medical record.

o Transfer for the welfare of the resident or other residents may be affected
immediately, if such action is documented in the medical record.

14. To be encouraged and assisted to exercise all constitutional and legal rights,
including:
o the right to vote;
o the right to voice grievances or recommend change in policies or services to AFH
or outside representatives of their choice;
o freedom from restraint, coercion, discrimination or reprisal.

15. To have the right to free exercise of religion, including the right to rely on spiritual
means for treatment

16. To retain and use personal clothing and possessions as space and regulations
permit

17. To be free from mental and physical abuse, chemical and physical restraints (except
in emergencies), unless authorized in writing by a physician and only for such
specified purpose and limited time as is reasonably necessary to protect the
resident from injury to himself or others:

o “Mental Abuse” includes humiliation, harassment and threats of punishment or
deprivation

o “Physical abuse” refers to corporal punishment or the use of restraints as a
punishment

o Drugs must not be used to limit, control or alter resident behavior for
convenience of the provider/caregiver

o “Physical restraint” includes the use of devices designed or intended to limit
resident’s total mobility

o Physical restraints are not to be used to limit resident mobility for the
convenience of the provider/caregiver, as a means of punishment or when not
medically required to treat the resident’s medical symptoms

18. To be assured confidential treatment of his/her personal and medical records

19. To approve or refuse the release of such records to any individual except to DHS in



case of transfer to another health care institution or as required by law or third party
payment contract

20. To be assured privacy in treatment and care for personal needs, including toileting
and other activities of personal hygiene

21. To be assured respect when spoken to, cared for or talked about by AFH
provider/caregiver

22. To exercise choice in participation of AFH activities, including individual preferences
regarding such things as menu, clothing, religious activities, friendships, activity
programs and entertainment

23. To associate or communicate privately with persons of their choice

Resident or Legal Representative Signature Date

Witness Signature Date

Witness Signature Date



POLICIES AND PROCEDURES
<INSERT BUSINESS NAME HERE>

Operational Procedures

Provider Responsibilities

o

o

Registration of clients is done by the owner.

If you are placed on a waiting list, we will call you when/if a space becomes available.
You will have 3 business days to respond to our call or you will be removed from
the waiting list.

Staff will maintain records documenting the dates and times of all visits. Please make
sure all authorized individuals are listed on the visitation list. If you are not on the
list, you may not visit. The owner has the right to reject any visitors at any time.

A visitation form must be signed by the visitor and staff member present at each visit
and kept on record at the home.

Physical punishment will not, at any time, be administered to clients in the home.
Smoke detectors are tested monthly to assure proper operation.

All areas in the home will be kept clean and free of hazards or potentially hazardous
objects.
No staff member shall leave the work area during scheduled work hours except in

the case of emergency and only when coverage can be provided by another staff
member.

Client Responsibilities

o

Family members, guardians or clients of an individual admitted into < Insert Center
Name > must:

e Provide up-to-date medical records (Medical information form)
e Complete an enrollment form

e Provide health information including all food allergies

e Provide emergency contact information

The client will be released only to family members or guardian if the center is
notified by the responsible guardian in advance.



o If a client is enrolled at < Insert Center Name > and does not attend every day of the
month, the family, guardian or client is still responsible for paying for the entire month.
Please note that the client is occupying a space and the staff must still be paid whether the
client is in residence or not.

o All Private Pay client care fees plus room and board are due by 5:30 p.m. on the
third of every month for the month being served. A $50 late fee will be assessed
after the 5th of the month for any fees not paid by the deadline. On the 10" day of
the month of non-payment, the client must vacate the premises will not be admitted
back into the home until fees are paid in full.

o EXAMPLE OF VISITATION (you may insert you own here): Visitation must be
scheduled one (1) hour in advance to assure the client will be available for visit.
Visitation times are as follows: 9:30am-1pm and 6pm-8pm, Monday through Friday.
Open visitation on Saturday and Sunday. We ask that you call one (I) hour ahead of
time.

o A visitation form must be signed by the visitor and staff member present at each visit
and kept on record at the home.

o Family members and guardians of clients enrolled at <Insert Center Name> are
responsible for notifying the owner of any changes in contact information such as
address, phone number(s), health information and emergency contact information
AS SOON AS POSSIBLE.

o Each client will need season appropriate clothing. PLEASE LABEL ALL ITEMS with
the client’s name.

Discharge Policy

Client Withdrawal and Discharge

A client of an adult family home, who is enrolled in the ElderChoices program of the Arkansas
Department of Human Services’ Division of Aging and Adult Services, may not be discharged
without the authorization of the DAAS RN and only then for the following reasons:

e Medical reasons — which must be based on the client’s needs and must be determined
and documented by a physician. This documentation must become part of the client’s
permanent record.

The client’s welfare or the welfare of other residents

The client no longer needs the services provided by the adult family home
The adult family home is no longer included on the ElderChoices plan of care
The adult family home ceases operation

A private pay client may withdraw or be discharged based on <insert your reason a private
paying client can withdraw from your AFH here> (These reasons may include unhappiness
of client, violence, provider does not get along with client or his or family members)



Health Policies and Procedures

First-aid procedures
* Red Cross first-aid and poison center guidelines will be followed.
» All providers are CPR certified annually.
* A first-aid kit will be on the premises.
* Emergency numbers are available at all times.
* Guardians or family members will be notified of accidents, and an injury record is kept
for each client.
Medical emergencies

* Immediate first-aid will be given.
* Ambulance will be called and paramedic recommendations followed.
* Family members and guardians of clients will be notified as soon as possible.

*  When family members and guardians of clients are not available, your emergency
reference will be called.

* Family members and guardians of clients are responsible for any expenses resulting from
emergency room care, ambulance, etc.

* Hospital of choice at the time of intake will be used for emergencies.

lliness

* If the client becomes ill, the family members will be notified and proper actions will be
taken.

Communicable disease prevention and reporting
* The client must be current with his/her immunizations.

* The client will be kept isolated from others as much as possible if he/she has a

communicable disease. Communicable diseases will be reported to the Department of
Health.

* Each client will be observed daily for illness.
Hand-washing, diapering, sanitizing, and laundering policies

 Staff will wash hands before and after diapering, toileting, eating, handling and preparing
food, and handling contaminated materials.

* Bedding will be laundered as needed or once a week.
Supervision of medication
* Medication reminders will be given on an as needed basis unless the client’s physician
gives written permission for the provider to administer medication.
Health records

* Please notify the AFH of any special health problems or concerns regarding your family
member or family. All records are maintained in a secure location and are confidential.



Fire and Natural Disaster Procedures

All homes certified by the Arkansas Department of Human Services will have fire and natural
disaster procedures. Each will follow the R.A.C.E guidelines for fires and have drills and
procedures for storm, tornado and other natural disasters.

FIRE

* Rescue — Residents will be rescued from the home in a safe manner. The provider will call
for help and warn others in the immediate area to begin the evacuation process. At this time, a
total evacuation of the home must commence.

* Alarm — Call for help via a neighbor’s home or other safe spot. Call 911 or the local fire
department for help. This safe spot should be determined ahead of time. The safe spot may
also be the place where residents congregate once free from the building.

* Confine — The fire needs to be confined in order to prevent further damage. Close the door
to the room, if applicable, to confine the fire, heat and gases. This will limit the spread of the
fire. If possible, close all other doors of the home to further confine the fire.

* Extinguish — This part of the procedure includes an evaluation of the situation. If the fire is
small and it is safe, you may consider extinguishing the fire. However, if the fire has outgrown
your ability, please rely on fire authorities to safely handle the fire. When fire authorities arrive,
the provider and/or client and caregiver in charge should work with the fire department to
coordinate client safety.

Storms or Tornado - <insert your approved drills and procedures here>
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